Hello! I'm new to FreeNAS and I'm sure I'll need help.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Fredcampbe

Cadet
Hey, My name is Fred and I'm a long time IT person in the Windows environment (Don't blame me it's how I make a living). I've played around quite a bit with Linux and personally prefer it a lot over Windows. I just bought a Dell PowerEdge server with 15TB of hard drive and 32Gb of memory off Ebay for $250 to start exploring NAS servers for my clients. It came with FreeNAS installed, well sort of. It had one huge hardware RAID drive with FreeNAS on it. I figured out quickly that was a big waste of what could be a great storage system. I replaced 2 of the 3TB drives with 2 300GB 15K SAS drives I had on hand and configured them as RAID 1. I setup an additional RAID 5 Drive with 4 3TB drives. So I have lots of space. I've installed FreeNAS Corral on the 300GB drive and set the others as a data drive. Now I just need to figure out how to best configure and use it. Most of my clients are Windows users (small businesses) that operate in workgroups instead of domains. So getting this setup to support for them may be a challenge. They want to store data that is shared and also data that is private to each user. That seems to be an issue with FreeNAS Corral. As I work through it I would appreciate any support you can offer. Thanks and it's great to be apart of your group.

gpsguy

Welcome to the forums!

Hardware RAID and ZFS are a bad combination. Either replace the controller with a proper HBA or see if you can flash your current controller to IT mode.

Spearfoot

He of the long foot