Hello, I'm learning and getting ready for my first FreeNAS build.

Status
Not open for further replies.

ZeroBit

Dabbler
So far I've read through CyberJock's FreeNAS Guide 9.10 PPT, the links in the PPT, many forum threads, lots of Google hits to my searches, Intel datasheets, and wanted to get started reading through the FreeNAS manual (which required me to sign-up, so here I am). I'm a programmer that has worked on everything from the Sony PSP, PS2, PS4, and Microsoft XBox One, to Enterprise Legal Database systems to Cellular Network Infrastructure (Base Station Controllers). In my college life I was a computer consultant that built and maintained network systems for small and medium sized businesses, as well as home users, and I've continued supporting my own home network as needed.

I'm hoping to build a FreeNAS system to house my source-code, photos and videos, and want to add jails for Plex, Minecraft and maybe MyCloud. I'll also have to run Samba to serve files to Win7 and Win10 desktop/laptops (probably SMB 2 after reading CyberJock's PPT, but still need to read the FreeNAS manual and FreeBSD docs). My thought at the moment is to use the following hardware, subject to change as I go through the manual, or get advice:

Intel Xeon E3-1225 V5 3.3GHz Quad-Core Processor
SuperMicro X11SSH-F-O Server Board with Intel C236 chipset, 2x Intel i210-AT GbE LAN, 8x SATA3 and RAID 0, 1, 5, 10
SuperMicro 32GB SATA DOM SSD-DM-32-PHI
SeaSonic 650W 80+ Gold Certified Fully-Modular ATX Power Supply
Samsung M391A2K43BB1-CPB 16GB ECC Unbuffered DDR4-2133 Memory (x2 for a total of 32GB)
Fractal Design Node 804 MicroATX Cube Case
CyberPower CP1500PFCLCD UPS