Hello from Luxembourg

foxi352

Cadet
I'm an 45 years old IT engineer with over 20 years of experience in Linux and Windows and 3 years experience with Docker. But i am relatively new to FreeBSD and FreeNAS.
My home server is running ESXi 6.5 free version and i am thinking of migrating it to FreeNAS. I played with jails and so far i feel the learning curve is reasonable when coming from the Linux world, so FreeBSD doesn't seem to be a problem. In fact i really start loving it, everything seems so clearly defined and structured.

My current hardware:
* HP ProLiant DL380 G7 with redundant power supply
* Dual 4 core Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU L5630 @ 2.13GHz
* 24GB (most probably ECC, have to check)
* 8 physical NIC
* 8GB SD card with ESXi 6.5
* 8x 1TB 2,5" SATA disks (some 5400 rpm, some 7200 rpm)
* APC SmartUPS 3000 (not yet connected to USB but cable already ordered)
Currently i am using 2TB for production (VM's, data, ...) and 3TB as Veeam backup store. The 2TB for production starts filling up, but some VM's are only for playing and are not really used (like 5 nodes kubernetes cluster just for fun).

My current VLAN's:
* PRODUCTION (computers, smartphones, pads, ...)
* HOME-AUTOMATION (esp8266 sensors, AC system, Heating system, KNX system, ...)
* TEST (for test vm's to not interfere with production DHCP for example)
* MANAGEMENT (All management ports of: Access points, switch, ESXi, ...)
* DMZ (Mail server, Web server, Nextcloud, ...)
* GUEST (For separate guest WiFi SSID to only access internet)

VM's i want to keep or replace with something (unimportant VM's not listed here):
* Nextcloud server (currently Debian 9)
* Mail server (currently iRedMail free is used)
* SmartHomeNG + SmartVISU server (currently Debian 9)
* PFSense firewall doing reverse proxy, keeping Letsencrypt certificates up2date with ACME, doing routing / firewalling between VLAN's e.t.c.
* Unifi controller for 3 access points
* MineOS server for the kids