Hello Everybody

Status
Not open for further replies.

jvandam

Cadet
Hi all,

Sorry if this gets a little lengthy. My name is Jared, and I'd like to give a little background on my project while I introduce myself. I'm an amateur when it comes to this stuff, so I thought I would sign up for this forum to get some advice. I've had this grand idea floating around in my head for a while about making a complete home automation system, while being able to use existing computers/hardware that I have laying around. Part of this would include having my own home server. What I have is the following:

Desktop (2005 era)
CPU: Intel Pentium 4 2.8GHz
MoBo: Intel D915GUX
80 GB Hard Drive
3 Gig RAM
Graphics card died over a year ago

Laptop:
HP Pavilion Dv7-6135dx

Nowadays, I pretty much do all of my computing on a Microsoft Surface and my mobile devices so the desktop and laptop get almost no use anymore. However, space is pretty limited on these devices so I really need a place to store all of my files. To put my old devices back into use, my initial thought was to buy some new hard drives and turn the old desktop into a home server. I'd like to run FreeNAS on it, but after doing some research on this website, I realized that the desktop is woefully inadequate to run FreeNAS. As a side bar, my new plan is to install LinuxMCE on both the desktop and laptop and use the desktop as a core/hybrid while the laptop becomes a media director, but that's a different discussion.

This does mean, however, that I will have to build my server from scratch. This is where I could use a second opinion. I read the recommended hardware page, so I'm basically building this off that page. I'm trying to keep it as cheap as possible, while still meeting requirements. For now, this will only be used on my LAN, but I might expand out into the greater internet at a later time, once I become more familiar with the required security precautions. Here's what I'm thinking:

Case: Fractal Node 304