Greetings, and what FreeNAS means to me

Status
Not open for further replies.

bhay

Cadet
All, I have been using FreeNAS for a few years now and I wanted to take time and share my story.

First of all, I love reading threads where CJ jumps in. This guy has the knowledge as well as the prow(l)ess to provide the support all of us need. And, you get it for free! Why am I doing this? Perhaps it is just time. Knowledge is power, and it does not matter who has that knowledge. As a collective, we all succeed as a result of input from each other.

Many years ago, a partner from Microsoft walked over to my desk with excitement and showed me what I suspect now was VMware Workstation. I'm sure all readers are aware of what that is, but during that brief moment of his excitement, I laughed and said, "oh ya, RDP - I can do that too." Not so many years ago a friend showed me Minecraft and I simply said "dude, that's a joke." A few years after that the same friend showed me FreeNAS/ZFS and I chuckled.

It didn't take long and I realized VMware Workstation wasn't RDP, and Minecraft was certainly worth trying. I built a FreeNAS server ignoring all the rules and then laughed again at my friend touting my RAID controller and perhaps mumbling something about "you can have my RAID5 when you pry it from my dead fingers..." I hope the reader is laughing by now at my repeated ignorance. But wait, my RAID5 was faster... OK, now I'm laughing after learning so much about ZFS.

I'm a true believer now. The value of data integrity needs to climb very high on everyone's list. If integrity is not a requirement, and I am sure those workloads exist, then stick with your hardware RAID controller. But, if losing that precious picture of a family member means something, ZFS is where that file needs to sit.