good ways to store backups

flashiling

Cadet
Hey again people.

so i've been tasked with trying to aquire knowledge about backups and a good way to do a full backup of all of our data.
the plan is to run freenas on the backup and equip it with raid 6 and 34TB storage with the seagate enterprice v5.

i've researched a little and heard of something called a three way backup where you have the daily backup and a full backup 3 different places, one on the network one on the console and one on the storage server that we're trying to aquire.

So question is.
how secure is such a method and if you are a data backup wizard with secrets in your beard what tweaks would be good.
or if the concept i mentioned above is garbage what would be a good way to make sure that we can get the data secured?

thanks for your time and apologies if some information is lacking or explanation seems odd i'm still learning.