Backing up large pool to esata enclosure or other ways?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tofu_Guy

Cadet
I'm planning on building a FreeNAS server for my home that will have one pool of mirror vdevs. Initially, the pool will consist of 4 drives of 6TB each (2 mirror vdevs), so 12TB usable data. It will grow in the future. I'll probably add another mirror vdev to the pool when I run out of space.

My question is: How can I back up the entire 12TB to external hard drives?

Here's what I'm thinking would be best. Correct me if any of this doesn't seem right, because I am a newbie at this. This is going to be my first FreeNAS build...

What I'm thinking of doing is buying two external esata hard drive enclosures (JBOD). Each enclosure would be used to connect directly with and backup the FreeNAS machine. Each enclosure would contain a ZFS filesystem, so that I can use scrub and ZFS replication. I would connect them, perform the backup, and then disconnect them and take them off-site.

Each esata enclosure would contain exactly the same number of terabytes as the main FreeNAS system. So if my FreeNAS system had 12TB of usable hard drive space, then the backup esata enclosure would contain 12TB of usable hard drive space also. That way, I don't have the issue of having to manually split up my data onto more than one hard drive individually.