Going from FreeNAS to Windows Server 16

Status
Not open for further replies.

therobmyers

Dabbler
Ok I've been using FreeNAS for 2 years now. I only use it for PLEX. I have 2 8TB hard drives full of movies and 1 USB with FreeNAS on it. My question is can I just download and install Windows Server on that USB drive overwriting FreeNAS and it'll automatically detect the movies on it after I install PLEX and update it? Thanks. I really am scared of losing all my movies on the 8TB hard drives.

Last edited by a moderator:

ovizii

Patron
I honestly don't think that will work at all. For one I doubt you can install Win Server onto a USB stick and then I highly doubt Windows can recognize your (probably) zfs formatted drives.

Ericloewe

Server Wrangler
I honestly don't think that will work at all. For one I doubt you can install Win Server onto a USB stick and then I highly doubt Windows can recognize your (probably) zfs formatted drives.
And Windows Server to run Plex? That's like buying an A380 to carry 10 people a day over 250km - it comes with a ton of limitations, it's very expensive to buy and operate and you're not using it for what it's meant to do.

jgreco

Resident Grinch
It won't work. Windows probably wants NTFS formatted disks, and won't recognize it. The movies are stored as files on a filesystem and ZFS and Windows simply have no overlap.

Plex on FreeBSD has been doing swimmingly well the last few years. I would guess the same is true of the FreeNAS implementation. Just curious, why the desire to switch?

therobmyers

Dabbler
Damn not what I was expecting. I'm just having problems with PLEX, I don't know if it's my Netgear Nighthawk router or FreeNAS. I can't update PLEX to the latest edition and it's no longer updating with posters/descriptions and every thing I've read to fix it hasn't worked. Completely stumped.

Last edited by a moderator:

chris crude

Patron