Future-proof high capacity NAS configuration

Status
Not open for further replies.

JR Arseneau

Cadet
Hi all,

I am by no means new to the world of storage. Having worked professionally in this environment for a while and having run my own NAS at home, I feel pretty comfortable navigating around these waters. I've used many enterprise-grade systems but I'm relatively new to ZFS (although I've poured over the literature). In fact, at the office, a few years back I lead the initiative to implement an Isilon scale-out NAS solution which has been purring since 2010.

I know there are a bunch of threads about various configuration paradigms, but I wanted to throw my hat into the ring and get some honest-to-good feedback from the resident experts in here. So here we go:

Goal
My goal is to create a NAS that will grow as my data needs grow. Very much like the Isilon (for those who are aware), you can add an extra storage node (a node is, for example, a 2U server with 12TB of space that gets pooled into the rest of the cluster, which only presents a huge block of contiguous space), I will periodically need to increase the capacity of this NAS. With the kind of space I will be dealing with, it will be difficult (or extremely costly from a monetary point of view) to "copy the data, destroy the zpool, rebuild the zpool and copy the data back".

History
  • 2006: First home NAS running under Gentoo mdm raid5 (500GB disks). I expanded once or twice by adding a 500GB disk and growing the raid5. Capacity: 2.5TB
  • 2009: Decided I wanted to mix-and-match disks while I grow (to save costs), migrated NAS to UnRAID. Capacity: 6TB
  • 2012: Unhappy with the flakey performance of UnRAID, slow updates, inadequate plugin architecture and various other unpleasantries, I decided to move to Linux + FlexRAID. Capacity: 10TB