FTPS Certificate issues

Status
Not open for further replies.

3taggarts

Cadet
So a while back I went all out and built and fantastic 10TB server with 32GB of ECC Ram. It works brilliantly and has been rock solid in my home network environment for about two years. One of the other reasons for building it was for remote file access as I wanted to step away from "cloud" storage and that I have a 60Meg upload speed connection. Naturally I got FTP working easily with my own hostname as I have a fixed IP address.
So, before I could utilise this effectively I obviously needed encryption. Down the rabbit hole I went and experimented with two options SFTP (SSH) or FTPS.

The first headache with SSH was that my users could see all my root files, this then led me into the dragons lair of Chrooting; which I still haven't figured out or found enough information on. (please bear in mind that I am not a Linus programmer and rely heavily on the GUI) All the threads on this seem to be way above my pay grade and every Linux geek seems to feel important by speaking in tongues. Also SSH is not as supported in terms of built in android file explorers. FTPS is! So I threw that out the window and decided I needed to beat myself a little harder and began the journey of encrypting FTP with SSL.

Obviously SSL is not easy within itself to understand but with enough caffeine, Ritalin and a kg of cocaine I managed to figure out how encryption works. Now most of the web seems to support SSL around web hosting but absolutely nothing from anywhere on Freenas.

I manged to (within freenas) create a CSR, submitted it to Verisign and got a lovely shiny Cert back. Then to discover that Freenas is now asking me to paste a "Begin Certificate" and "End Certificate" which these lovely Cert files I received does not seem to contain.