From Openmediavault to FreeNAS - some advice?

Status
Not open for further replies.

zimon

Contributor
I was using Openmediavault for quite some time and I now want to "upgrade" to FreeNAS. But before I am doing that, I want to seek some advice from you guys whether it makes sense what I want to achieve.
I have basic Linux knowledge but absolutely no FreeBSD/OpenBSD knowledge.

I have a HP Proliant Microserver with 8GB RAM, 3x 1.5TB HDD with ext4 and one with 500GB ext3 where I have all the Data on which should be migrated to FreeNAS (most media files and the latest Backup of my photo library). AFAIK FeeNAS can mount and read from ext3. According to that I also have 120GB SDD where I am planing to install FreeNAS on.

The NAS should mainly act as a media server(DLNA) and backup server (backups from windows/linux and mac machines) but I don't want to run into trouble when there is a HDD failure so I thought I use a RAIDZ1 with my 3 1.5TB drives but according to this: https://forums.freenas.org/index.php?threads/zfs-primer.38927/ RAIDZ1 is not recommended for drives over 1 TB in size. So would it make more sense to buy another 1.5TB and add it to the Pool after the data is migrated? (even if its a different manufacturer)

Since I have a SSD where I want to place the OS on, I was wondering if it makes sense to use it as Write/Read Cache for the ZFS? (The SSD is a few years old so it is not the fastest). If the SSD does not suit the needs of a R/W Cache is it recommended to have one? (like an extra SSD for that?)

I am a bit confused watching this video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k-mRgeDS8rk since it says that installation via usb drive is not supported anymore?

I will read through the documentation before I am installing FreeNAS tomorrow but I would appreciate any help and advice, tricks and tips.

anodos

Sambassador
iXsystems