Some advice please....

DigitalMetal

Cadet
Hi, I'm new here and looking for some advice if possible please. So first an introduction and some background .
I used to be workstation PC builder for a living several years ago and used to be quite content researching, spec'ing and building powerful machines for use in multitrack audio recording studios but I've been out of the game a while and my on hand knowledge is somewhat out of date. I now work as a broadcast engineer and our infrastructure rather more "corporate IT managed" than DIY so I haven't kept my and in with what options are out these besides HP off the shelf storage solotions.
In recent years I've been doing a lot of personal video work for my youtube channels and a few years ago I put together a fairly decent editing workstation consisting of a Windows 11 Pro build, intel i9 10850K CPU Z490 motherboard, 32GB or DDR4 RAM, an Nvidia 1080ti GPU and lots of mixed storage ranging from some fast NVME SSD's to older SATA SSD's.
I have a second computer running Windows 10 Pro made from parts from my older workstation X99 motherboard i7 6 core CPU and 16GB DDR4 RAM that is something of a storage server, I added an 8 port LSI SATA card which connects to a DIY JBOD drive enclosure containing 8 spinning hard drives of various sizes, these are pooled together with another 5 internal PC spinning drives (various sized) using DriveBender software.
The two machines are directly connected over copper 10GbE (each PC has a cheap Mellonox PCIe Card).