FreeNAS with XBMC?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Magnum26

Cadet
Hi All,

First's off I'm new to FreeNAS and linux type interfaces etc in general so be gentle.

I have recently bought a HP Microserver N40L and installed FreeNAS (running on a 2GB data stick) on the recommendation of a friend. I have setup a windows share and an apple share, both of which work great. My plan now is to install XBMC (or something similar?) to be able to play movies directly off my Microserver to my TV by installing a graphics card in the PCI-E slot on the motherboard. I have done quite a bit of googling and haven't found anyone else with this setup.

Is it possible to install XBMC along side FreeNAS and if so how? :confused:

ben

FreeNAS GUI Developer
You can use the MiniDLNA plugin to serve to something that runs XBMC, but I don't even think FreeNAS has graphics drivers (it doesn't need them for the console and web UI). It's definitely not designed to be a set-top-box replacement. You may be looking at something that's way more trouble than it's worth.

Magnum26

Cadet
I have freeBSD installed in a jail setup ready for a Minecraft server I'm trying to setup, could it be run off that if freeNas is unable? I have looked at the MiniDLNA plugin and have setup plugins last night just in case, but the idea was to have HTPC and NAS in one box. :(

cubix

Save yourself the headache, find an apple tv2 to jailbreak and install xbmc. You can set up any sort of share from your freenas box - xbmc will read them all

If you want to run xbmc on your nas then freenas isn't going to be an easy path and I would consider another platform for the task. At a bare minimum freebsd. Preferably ubuntu.

still keen? Depending on dependencies and how current the xbmc port is, setup a jail and install xbmc from the ports tree. You will find instructions in the manual.

Magnum26

Cadet