Freenas usenet setup guide.

Status
Not open for further replies.

ozwaldca

Explorer
Hey guys i am looking to setup my FreeNAS box to start using Usenet vs torrents on my PC.

I was looking around and found some outdated guides on how to set this. Does anyone have some newer documentation or can lend a hand. I am fairly new to Usenet and all the tools: SABnzbd, couchpotato, headphones, etc....

I think i need to set up SABnzbd first and then have all other program point to that?

Cheers

ozzy

Steve Brown

Explorer
Yes install sabnzbd which is your usenet downloader. You need to make sure you have a usenet server. Once you have sabnzbd installed and configured you can install couchpotato and others.

There is a post about permissions which is probably the biggest obstacle that you should read up on before installing the plugins. It covers pretty much everything and Joshua Parker is the man he is extremely helpful.

https://forums.freenas.org/index.ph...plugins-write-permissions-to-your-data.27273/

ozwaldca

Explorer
k thanks

i have everything installed just need to try and configure it all; yes i have a usenet account

ozwaldca

Explorer
Would it be possible to get some help. i can provide team viewer access? i am struggling to get it all working together.

please and thanks.

pirateghost

Unintelligible Geek
Would it be possible to get some help. i can provide team viewer access? i am struggling to get it all working together.

please and thanks.
If you have someone else set it up for you, how will you ever fix it, should it break?

It really isn't hard to follow one of the many tutorials found online for setting up sabnzbd with couch potato and sickbeard/sickrage...

What you're asking has nothing to do with FreeNAS

ozwaldca

Explorer
Hi Pirate,

I would rather do it my self as well. being a newbie to this world i find some of the terminology is hard to follow.