BUILD FreeNAS - the next step

Status
Not open for further replies.

c0d1st

Cadet
Hello,

I have cruising the FreeNAS forums for a while. I’ve been reading the guides and posts. I think I’ve started to grasp the concepts presented. I’ve out grown my current solution and it’s time to move on. This will be a fun challenge, but I would much rather take a hit on the forums than in the wallet.

Background:

I recently graduated college with an IT related degree. During my college adventures, I picked up a small Synology 210J to back up homework and projects. A friend from school introduced me to FreeNAS. I played around with it in a VM and eventually some old hardware. I was impressed with the hardware test. I’m not afraid of research, hard work, the word “No.”, system building or CLI. I’m a BSD noob, but willing to learn. Now it’s time to take the leap.

Project:

Current Needs - My Synology is near full. I require more space, greater reliability and better throughput. Living in a rural area, my internet service is poor; therefore, I tend to stash a lot of stuff on my NAS for future use. I have media (video, e-books, music and photos), ISO files, installed game folders, work and school files, etc.

I will repurpose my Synology as a backup. All of my project files, work files, archived homework, financials, etc. will be stored there. The only media I will be archiving will be my books. The rest is an acceptable risk.

I will be setting up an ESXi environment with leftover parts as a preliminary test bed. I’ll be hosting some development projects and testing software. If the system loses all of its smoke, I will not be out a whole lot.