BUILD First FreeNAS Server . . .

Status
Not open for further replies.

mk801

Cadet
Hi gang . . .

I'm new to FreeNAS, and would like to build a system to replace my older file server (which, unfortunately, I built years ago with OpenFiler). It will primarily be CIFS shares (with frequent snapshots for versioning), some NFS shares (for linux boxes), and an iSCSI target (for a backup storage volume for my ESXi box).

I was hoping someone would take a glance at my plan, and tell me if it seems reasonable:

X11SSH-CTF motherboard
Samsung DDR4-2133 (M393A4K40BB0-CPB) 2 x 32 GB
Xeon E3-1230 V5
8 x Western Digital Red 6 TB drives in one Z2 vdev (36 TB)

A few questions:

(1) Does version 9.10 have good support for the intel 10GB ethernet adapter? I'm hoping that if I build a new ESXi server, also with 10GB ethernet, I'll get better peformance on the iSCSI interface.

(2) Is 64 GB of RAM overkill? Will FreeNAS automatically use as much as it can for cache?

(3) I'm not keen on full disk encryption, because I mostly don't need it. However, if it's true that the overhead, with the AES extensions that the process has, is almost non-existent, then why not. Any experiences with what kind of impact encryption has on performance?

(4) I can't bring myself to create four mirrored vdevs (24 TB). But I might be talked into Z3 (30 TB) if anyone thinks it's a better idea.

My (very preliminary) plan is to install the system onto two mirrored USB memory sticks.

Also, I'll flash the SAS controller into IT mode, for future expansion.

I'm in Canada -- my preliminary estimates for cost for this server is about $4,000. Am I being ridiculous?

Thanks for any comments!

Stux

MVP
Seems good to me.

Nick2253

Wizard
(1) Does version 9.10 have good support for the intel 10GB ethernet adapter? I'm hoping that if I build a new ESXi server, also with 10GB ethernet, I'll get better peformance on the iSCSI interface.
Those should be supported no problem.