FreeNAS Noob

Status
Not open for further replies.

RCH

Cadet
Hello Everyone,

i am new to the FreeBSD and FreeNAS community and have high hopes for this platform. First of all thanks for reading this and hopefully i can be pointed in the right direction as i am unsure on the terms used to do what i am trying to do.

My Plan is to setup 3 FreeNAS servers all in different locations. i have 2 setup now to test stuff out before i take the time to build and setup the 3rd. i hope to achieve active file syncing to all 3 servers so they are mirrors of each other so at each location file access is practically instant and any changes will push to the other servers.

i though that owncloud would do most of the the heavy lifting on this if i setup a shared folder with one user and have all the local pcs log in as that user. which works but i cannot get the 2 owncloud servers to validate the self signed ssl.

i am using no-ip if that either helps or hurts. i can use the web interface on both servers from several locations but neither connect via https and i get the cross though it in chrome.

i followed this thread https://forums.freenas.org/index.php?threads/owncloud-ssl-self-signed-certs.15187/
and i am still running into trouble

i also have windows share for backups of the local pcs which i would like to auto copy to the other servers as well and i am unsure how to go about doing that.

My apologizes for putting this here but i did not want to start another thread for something that has more than likely been answered many times.

Robert Trevellyan

Pony Wrangler
i am new to the FreeBSD and FreeNAS community and have high hopes for this platform.
Welcome.
i hope to achieve active file syncing to all 3 servers so they are mirrors of each other
For three-way mirroring, you might want to try Syncthing or BitTorrent Sync.