freenas installation on ada0 has failed

Status
Not open for further replies.

Boosteriscat123

Dabbler
Hi I just bought a Refurb T3500 from newegg and it has a W3680 intel and 12 GB of ram and a 1 TB drive .. I added a second drive 2TB and am now going to / Try to install FreeNas but I keep getting this error ( freenas installation on ada0 has failed ) .. Please keep in mind I am very new to this and have 0 experience with FreeNAS.. I am not new to computers in general but a complete noob when it comes to servers and how to set things up...

Would be great if someone could point me in the right direction...

Are you installing the FreeNAS OS on a USB stick rather than the HDDs? If not, you should be. The OS requirements are around 8GB of space. You will need two USB sticks - one for the installation media and the other for the FreeNAS OS. The installation section of the FreeNAS doc is an excellent instructional guide if you're not already using it. Assuming identical USB sticks, once you've finished with the installation media, use it to mirror the other stick (the boot device) to eliminate the FreeNAS OS being a single point of failure on your system. Instructions can be found here in the doc.

Boosteriscat123

Dabbler
Are you installing the FreeNAS OS on a USB stick rather than the HDDs? If not, you should be. The OS requirements are around 8GB of space. You will need two USB sticks - one for the installation media and the other for the FreeNAS OS. The installation section of the FreeNAS doc is an excellent instructional guide if you're not already using it. Assuming identical USB sticks, once you've finished with the installation media, use it to mirror the other stick (the boot device) to eliminate the FreeNAS OS being a single point of failure on your system. Instructions can be found here in the doc.