FreeNAS ignores newly added RAM

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pilot1400

Cadet
Hi everyone,

not sure if this is the right place to post but since I am really rather new to FreeNAS this might be a good fit. I set up new box, HP SE316M1 with 16GB, using FreeNAS 9.3 Stable, ISCSI and everything works nicely. However, my ARC hit rates could be better and following advise here on the forums I added another 16GB of RAM. The RAM is recognized by the server and also shows up on FreeNAS, but is ignored. The system continues to behave as if it would still have 16GB only.

Here is what I did so far, following advice I found here on some threads:
- reboot with autotune on, did nothing
- reboot with autotune off, did nothing
- changed values on tunables, namely vfs.zfs.arc_max and vm.kmem_size, reboot, did nothing
- turned autotune off, deleted all tunables, reboot, turned autotune on, reboot -> changes were made:
vfs.zfs.arc_max was set to 26843545600 (~ 25GB) and vm.kmem_size to 42902645760 (~39GB?) and the ARC was reset. But after some use, it still peaks out at 12.7GB and leaves about 17GB unused, just like before with only 16GB total RAM.

So what should I do to make FreeNAS use this additional memory? I attached a few more screenshots with actual data.

Thanks,
Alex

Attachments

• sysinfo.jpg
    sysinfo.jpg
    186.5 KB · Views: 236
  • tunables.jpg
    tunables.jpg
    250.4 KB · Views: 255
  • report01.jpg
    report01.jpg
    260.4 KB · Views: 249
  • report02.jpg
    report02.jpg
    253.9 KB · Views: 239

jgreco

Resident Grinch
And you're doing stuff that would actually be cached by ARC? Because report01 makes it look like very little's going on on the system.

Pilot1400

Cadet
The system is not in productive use right now yet so I doubt it really needs the bigger ARC at the moment. However, as it is growing and then always capped at exactly the same size and exactly 16GB are left unused I doubt that this is expected behaviour.

Robert Trevellyan