FreeNAS enclosure

Status
Not open for further replies.

yis

Dabbler
hey guys,
I am still a tiny bit confused here...
is there an enclosure that i can buy that support FeeNAS (or where i can install FreeNAS on?).. I dont want to build my own hardware for it, all i want is a diskless enclosure to host 4-6 hard drives for cheap? the only thing i am seeing is this little guy http://www.ixsystems.com/storage/freenas/ but i dont want to spend a 1000 on a diskless enclosure :/

little background , I have used FreeNAS before on a lab environment ( was hosted on a VM )
I used to be a storage engineer for NetApp and EMC for medium /large companies in the past so i understand storage and how things works.

Thanks in advance and any help is much appreciated.

danb35

Hall of Famer
The only thing I'm aware of is the FreeNAS Mini, which as you've observed isn't cheap. Really, any hardware that's suitable for FreeNAS won't be cheap--Intel-based motherboard that supports ECC means server stuff, the least expensive I can find is the SuperMicro X10SLL-F for $167 at newegg. An i3-4130, $122. 16 GB of ECC RAM, $165. Decent case and power supply, maybe $150. That's $600 already, with no support. I believe the Mini uses a SATA DOM for the boot device, which will add a few bucks, and it also has hot-swap trays for the drives, which is probably going to make for a more expensive case.

yis

Dabbler
Of course there are cheaper solutions than the FreeNAS mini.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/ComboBundleDetails.aspx?ItemList=Combo.1744486 for example. or the following boxes, just add ECC RAM:
Dell Poweredge T20 (4x 3.5" SATA precabled)
Lenovo TS140
Lenovo TS440
HP Microserver Gen8
oh sweet. I actually have $200 gift card from DELL that i can use on their website, would you mind checking this

http://www.dell.com/us/business/p/poweredge-t20/pd?oc=bectc2&model_id=poweredge-t20

http://www.dell.com/us/business/p/poweredge-t20/pd?oc=bectc3&model_id=poweredge-t20