FreeNas Bottleneck Issue

Status
Not open for further replies.

sonny81

Contributor
I'll say that I'm very new to the freenas world.

My setup is listed in my signature and here's my symptoms:

1MB/s transfer speeds from my desktop computer to freenas unit.

Desktop computer has built in Marvel LAN connected to a Dlink gigabit switch.

The switch is connected to my Linksys G WRTG2 v1 router using a Belkin ethernet power line. My nas unit is connected to the Linksys router via CAT6 cable.

Set priority in my router settings to the two ethernet ports my desktop and nas are connected to (1 & 2), and cut off flow control.

In NAS GUI under Services, CIFS is on (drives configured ZFS), SNMP enabled, S.M.A.R.T. enabled and scheduled once a week, SSH enabled.

I have Enable powerd (Power Saving Daemon) enabled and for the drives, I have them set to Level 1 minimal power usages with Standby, and HDD standby is set to 10 minutes.

When I look under Display System Processes its showing me this:
last pid: 23720; load averages: 0.08, 0.13, 0.15 up 0+23:04:45 23:29:58
40 processes: 1 running, 39 sleeping

Mem: 120M Active, 89M Inact, 2743M Wired, 162M Buf, 512M Free
Swap: 4096M Total, 4096M Free

PID USERNAME THR PRI NICE SIZE RES STATE C TIME WCPU COMMAND
23450 root 1 48 0 55080K 15656K sbwait 0 1:23 6.59% smbd
2018 root 6 44 0 159M 90304K piperd 0 1:58 0.29% python
2297 root 7 44 0 67412K 9932K ucond 0 1:11 0.00% collectd
7333 root 2 44 0 52508K 14492K select 0 1:09 0.00% python
5180 root 1 44 0 6776K 1252K select 1 0:22 0.00% powerd
1646 root 1 44 0 39220K 6360K select 1 0:12 0.00% nmbd
5341 root 1 44 0 11784K 2796K select 1 0:06 0.00% ntpd
2753 root 1 76 0 87008K 40028K ttyin 1 0:02 0.00% python
2374 root 1 76 0 7964K 1532K nanslp 0 0:01 0.00% cron
6634 root 1 44 0 10168K 2048K select 1 0:01 0.00% bsnmpd
1325 root 1 44 0 6908K 1468K select 1 0:01 0.00% syslogd
1604 root 1 44 0 46796K 9260K select 1 0:00 0.00% smbd
13373 www 1 44 0 14372K 4748K kqread 1 0:00 0.00% nginx