FreeNAS as a backup device?

Status
Not open for further replies.

danb35

Hall of Famer
RAID1 on > 1TB drives is IMHO just not useful; rebuild just takes too long, if it works.
By all accounts, this is fundamentally incorrect.
I have some experience with UPSs, IMHO they are very expensive, need constant monitoring and often let me down.
Interesting; this is quite the opposite of my experience.

Edit: ZFS is more tolerant than most other filesystems of power loss, but it isn't a good thing for any filesystem.

Chris Moore

Hall of Famer
FreeNAS has a service that allows you to monitor the UPS and automatically shutdown the system when the battery is low.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I537 using Tapatalk

wblock

Documentation Engineer
RAID1 on > 1TB drives is IMHO just not useful; rebuild just takes too long, if it works.
Remember that ZFS does this differently from typical "hardware" RAID. Only used blocks are resilvered, because ZFS knows which blocks those are.

Is it being suggested that the lack of a reliable power supply is a way to loose my zpools?
No, just that a reasonable level of protection makes sense. Having ECC to protect against memory errors, redundancy to protect from disk failure, but nothing to protect from power fluctuation leaves a potential weak spot in the system. And one that realistically does cause problems, usually at the worst possible moment.

Chris Moore

Hall of Famer
I am happy to go with raidz2 with carefully purchased disks.