Freenas and Dell T110 can't 'see' disk but Mac can

rwillett

Dabbler
I've been struggling with this problem all day and can't even understand what the problem is. I'm still learning and playing with my FreeNAS server so if (when!) things go wrong, nothing is lost.

I've just been given a 1TB Samsung SATA disk by a friend of a friend (sounds ominous :) ). My intention was to create a small three disk pool with a spare disk and simulate a disk failing and replacing it. I'd rather learn how to do this now just in case I need to do it for real.

1. I powered down my server, added the disk to my newly flashed H310 card and powered up. Mmm No new disk. Other disks on the card are seen correctly.
2. Checked cables, powered down again and powered up, this time looking at the console. No new disk. Very odd.
3. Powered down again, changed power cable AND sata cable. Powered up. No new disk. Very odd.
4. Powered down again. Took all disks out apart from new disk, put it in a slot with a power cable and SATA cable that I know works as it was used on a live running disk. Still on H310 card. No new disk. Very odd.
5. Powered down again. Moved the hard disk to an internal SATA slot and powered up. No new disk. Really odd.
6. Went to BSD shell, gpart list, I can see the boot USB disk but nothing else. No new disk.

OK. The disk is screwed. Clearly the disk is screwed as it's not being seen.

Just for laughs, added it to my Mac (powered down, blah, blah blah), fired up Disk Utility and there's the disk. It was setup as an Apple disk in the past. I reformatted it (to APFS for a laugh). Checked it works and it does.

7. Powered down Mac, put disk back in FreeNAS server, powered up and ...... drums roll .... nothing. Not seen in the BIOS, not seen in the H310 utility, not seen by FreeNAS (which is now reporting SMARTD is not running). I have proven alerts are working :) Not seen by SMARTCTL.