FreeNAS 11 as AD Domain Controller

Status
Not open for further replies.

CPP-IT

Dabbler
* A note about my background may help in structuring responses to the question*

My background/schooling is Art/Design, so my original role was Web/Graphic Design. I have a joy of technology, and as such have been roped into becoming IT/SysAdmin for the office.

The company I work for is growing, we have over 30 active Windows (7) workstations going at any given day. As this number continues to go up I have to manage these and the Debian Linux file server.

To consolidate my work load and make life easier/nicer I working to transition to FreeNAS, and then add Active Directory to our network to make managing all the desktops easier.

I'm very new to BSD & FreeNAS, heck even Linux management is fairly recent.

== The Question ==

What is the experience of running AD as Domain Controller on FreeNAS?
If a stand alone FreeBSD box as the DC is better I would be ok with that too.

Nick2253

Wizard
I would strongly recommend that you do not use FreeNAS as your domain controller. If you were doing something for home, you might get away with doing it. But especially in a business environment, I would steer away from combining too many services in one box.