Register for the iXsystems Community to get an ad-free experience and exclusive discounts in our eBay Store.

SOLVED FreeNAS-11.3-U5 SuperMicro : Can't see added 8TB SSD to existing system

Western Digital Drives - The Preferred Drives of FreeNAS and TrueNAS CORE
Joined
Apr 6, 2016
Messages
31
I have had FreeNAS running on this hardware for a few years now, without much change along the way. Now I would like to convert some of my older drives to SSD, upgrading a bit along the way (reducing the 83% used factor).

Current configuration is 6 * 6TB drives in a Raid-Z2 configuration ("Main-HDDs" pool), and 3 * 1TB SSD drives in a RaidZ1 ("SSDs" pool) configuration.

Now I want to grow the Main-HDDs pool, replacing two of the 6TB with 8TB SSD. I'm using Samsung 870 for this exercise.

I plan to follow this guide.

I have powered down the system, installed the drive in an unused slot, and rebooted. But after restart (actually, a couple) I don't see the new drive at all. I have searched for solutions to this sort of problem ... only things I found that sounded like a match, were some posts where people hadn't properly plugged in the drive and whatnot. I am convinced this drive is properly installed.

What commands can I run to provide more information in my quest for assistance here?

I've included a screen shot of the storage configuration and other details....

Thanks!

1629128327994.png
 

ChrisRJ

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2020
Messages
524
Joined
Apr 6, 2016
Messages
31
Only in the sense that it's the same system. I'm not sure what questions to answer - thought I'd start with a grand view. If it's confusing, I'll remove it.
 

ChrisRJ

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2020
Messages
524
The question you need to answer for yourself is whether or not it provides information that is relevant. My understanding is that you do not see the SSDs on BIOS-level. In that case the screenshot would be misleading IMHO. If I am wrong, it might be different story.
 

Spearfoot

He of the long foot
Moderator
Joined
May 13, 2015
Messages
2,451
It would be helpful if you post detailed information about your system, per the forum rules.
 
Joined
Apr 6, 2016
Messages
31
The question you need to answer for yourself is whether or not it provides information that is relevant. My understanding is that you do not see the SSDs on BIOS-level. In that case the screenshot would be misleading IMHO. If I am wrong, it might be different story.
In that it provides a general view of current status, including the workability of the two existing storage pools, I don't personally find it misleading at all. Maybe that's me.

Regarding the confusion, there are two existing pools. One I called Main-HDDs and the other I called SSDs. Now I'm going to add some SSD drives to the Main-HDDs pool, to increase its size and to replace older drives before they fail (Yes, that will destroy the meaning of my naming convention. Least of my concerns at this point). However, the first SSD I have added to the system does not show up in the system. Again, if that image makes the question unclear, I will remove it.
 
Joined
Apr 6, 2016
Messages
31
It would be helpful if you post detailed information about your system, per the forum rules.
Please forgive my ignorance.

SilverStone SST-ST45SF (SFX Form factor) case, 8 * 5.25" slots, 4 * 3.5" slots
ASROCK Z97 Pro4 ATX LGA 1150
CPU: I don't know how to determine what CPU is under that fan
64 GB memory.
SD PEX 40099 4-port SATA III drives 3 Samsung 850 1TB SSD + 1 Seagate ST6000VN0001
Other (5) SATA are plugged into the MB. All are ST6000VN0001

Have added 1 SSD to motherboard... it does not show up.
 
Last edited:

Spearfoot

He of the long foot
Moderator
Joined
May 13, 2015
Messages
2,451
Please forgive my ignorance.
Nothing to forgive, brother! It's just easier for everyone to help if we know more about your equipment.

SD PEX 40099 4-port SATA III drives 3 Samsung 850 1TB SSD + 1 Seagate ST6000VN0001
Other (5) SATA are plugged into the MB. All are ST6000VN0001
Speaking of equipment... what is the "SD PEX 40099"? Is this some kind of SATA adapter?

Have added 1 SSD to motherboard... it does not show up.
Looks like your motherboard has 6 x SATA3 slots, but "the M.2 socket, SATA3_4, and SATA3_5 and SATA Express share lanes. If either of them is in use, the others will be disabled."

Could this be your problem? Has plugging in the add'l SSD disabled other SATA ports on your system?
 

ChrisRJ

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2020
Messages
524
However, the first SSD I have added to the system does not show up in the system.
What do you mean with system? The BIOS? The output of FreeBSD's dmesg? The TrueNAS UI?
 
Joined
Apr 6, 2016
Messages
31
Nothing to forgive, brother! It's just easier for everyone to help if we know more about your equipment.

Speaking of equipment... what is the "SD PEX 40099"? Is this some kind of SATA adapter?

Looks like your motherboard has 6 x SATA3 slots, but "the M.2 socket, SATA3_4, and SATA3_5 and SATA Express share lanes. If either of them is in use, the others will be disabled."

Could this be your problem? Has plugging in the add'l SSD disabled other SATA ports on your system?
Yes, the SD PEX 40099 is additional SATA storage. Nothing special; I just needed to have more drives in the system, and wanted to segregate the SSDs from the HDDs. I no longer remember why, and clearly I didn't accomplish that since I have one HDD on that card.

You could be right about disabling the other ports. I may have to revisit... and it may be time for more upgrade than I had planned. I don't see any hardware difference with/without the new SSD. I could be missing something.... Still looking

Thanks so much for the helpful reply.
 
Joined
Apr 6, 2016
Messages
31
What do you mean with system? The BIOS? The output of FreeBSD's dmesg? The TrueNAS UI?
Does not show up in the FreeNAS UI, nor in dmesg. I have not visited the BIOS settings... no keyboard attached at present. I will revisit that if necessary.
 
Joined
Apr 6, 2016
Messages
31
One at a time, I could remove the HDD drives that are to be replaced, and put the SSDs in their places. Might have to, but I'd rather try to bring the new drives up to speed while everything is working - less risk. I thought I had located an article describing the process, but now I don't see it. Just hate to take that risk unnecessarily since Murphy has so many addendums to his laws....
 
Joined
Apr 6, 2016
Messages
31
Hmmm... I moved the SSD to another slot and now it showed up. So I replaced the cable to the original bay and now it works as well.

I can now see all my drives.
 

ChrisRJ

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2020
Messages
524
Hm, SATA controllers with Marvell chip sets are allegedly a bit of a hit-or-miss with FreeBSD (some work well, many not so much). I do not have personal experience here, but you should find more details using the forum search. The general recommendation would be to replace it with LSI-based HBA that is flashed to IT mode.
 
Joined
Apr 6, 2016
Messages
31
Hm, SATA controllers with Marvell chip sets are allegedly a bit of a hit-or-miss with FreeBSD (some work well, many not so much). I do not have personal experience here, but you should find more details using the forum search. The general recommendation would be to replace it with LSI-based HBA that is flashed to IT mode.
Yes, everywhere but here I have LSI boards. I see an LSI00343 9300 in my immediate future. Thanks for the tip about flashing to InitiatorTarget mode. I'm going to close this. The replacement of one drive is complete, and the other is on its way.

Housework: How to replace a drive while still active - Freenas 11: Simple process in the interface. Rather than offlining the old drive, set it to Replace. UI will let you choose a drive with which to replace it and it's all neat and clean.
 
Top