[Jump down to post #15 to see the most updated information.]

• FreeNAS version
  • Motherboard make and model
    • ASRock C2750D4I
  • CPU make and model
    • Intel Octa Core Avoton C2750 Processor
  • RAM quantity
    • 32GB
  • Hard drives, quantity, model numbers, and RAID configuration, including boot drives
    • Seagate ST6000DX000
    • raidz3
    • Dual Samsung Fit Plus 32GB
  • Hard disk controllers
    • Intel® C2750 : 2 x SATA3 6.0 Gb/s, 4 x SATA2 3.0 Gb/s
    • Marvell SE9172: 2 x SATA3 6.0 Gb/s
    • Marvell SE9230: 4 x SATA3 6.0 Gb/s
  • Network cards
    • [Built-in/unknown] Dual gigabit

I have been running FreeNAS for a few years now (since 9.x?). Same hardware, never had a problem besides a boot device dying here or there. Now the machine is rebooting every few days. As you can imagine iSCSI is not a fan to say the least.

I assume this is a kernel panic but am unsure on FreeBSD how to check that. What logs do I need to look at to see why the thing is rebooting on its own?

Thanks.

Last edited:

nickwebha

Dabbler

nickwebha

Dabbler
Check /data/crash

Here is the one from today (the most recent):
Dump header from device: /dev/ada11p1 Architecture: amd64 Architecture Version: 1 Dump Length: 789504 Blocksize: 512 Dumptime: Tue Jul 7 01:01:29 2020 Hostname: freenas.local Magic: FreeBSD Text Dump Version String: FreeBSD 11.3-RELEASE-p5 #0 r325575+8ed1cd24b60(HEAD): Mon Jan 27 18:07:23 UTC 2020 root@tnbuild02.tn.ixsystems.com:/freenas-releng/freenas/_BE/objs/freenas-releng/freenas/_BE/os/sys/Free Panic String: double fault Dump Parity: 3411573524 Bounds: 1 Dump Status: good

nickwebha

Dabbler
First impression is hardware. Check your IPMI log - ipmitool sel get all - I'm thinking RAM.

Happened again some time during the night.

Code:
1 | 07/08/2020 | 04:43:15 | System Event | Timestamp Clock Sync | Asserted
2 | 07/08/2020 | 04:43:15 | System Event #0xff | Timestamp Clock Sync | Asserted