For noobies, FreeNAS questions to clear

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jack.W

Dabbler
I read the thread from jab416171 but maybe my case is going to be more simple.

- I should say I am very reluctant on getting a $900+ on 5bays NAS enclosure alone.
- I have spare idling PC with i7 (4GB ram) but with limited 3 SATA ports only.
- I have a 2TB raid 1 in Windows environment, should I say my data growth is slow for the moment

5 * 2TB hdd will give me 8TB approx usable, do serve me well enough (i am also new to raid cards/hba cards, getting to understand basic over last few days) so here's my doubts

1) ZFS-RAIDZ1 aka RAID 5 (1 parity) and RAID Z2 (2 parity)
I intend to do a RAID 5 with 5 * 2TB WD Green / Red.
Found article on Green drive modification.
fix-for-wdeas-green-drives

Interesting article on Raid5 dying by 2009.
why-raid-5-stops-working-in-2009/

My main concern, since I have only 3 SATA, i need to expand with 2 more sata. Getting a HBA with additional ports recommended or a mainboard with onboard >=6sata be better?

Getting a RAID card defeat the purpose since I have to disable the raid.

I selected a LSI card 9211-8I PCE-E that can goes up to 8 internal SATA since i read that FreeNAS work better with array in a single controller

2) ECC more for enterprise, mission critical..
So I guess with 8GB non-ECC is good right?
the NAS will mainly for data archival and family sharing with occasionally streaming (once per week)
I can adjust to 16GB with 2 * 8GB

4) Server grade component is not a MUST HAVE but Good to have, in my understanding

5) Future idea, can I grow / expand the usable space dynamically, in times to come easily?

Hope to hear some comments soon.

Jack.W

Dabbler
oh yah, btw pardon my english, I also read up some old threads.. perhaps my questions are repeating again but I try to summarize my doubts.