SOLVED Flashing IBM MR10i to IT Mode

Status
Not open for further replies.

renjithc

Dabbler
Got my hands on an IBM Server Raid MR10i Raid Controller. Want to flash it into IT mode - but I'm rather clueless on where to find the necessary firmware or the process involved. Found lots of info on BR10i & M1015 - nothing about MR10i.

Can someone guide me here - I'm new to flashing Raid Controllers to HBA.(Assuming this can be flashed to IT Mode)

Ericloewe

Server Wrangler
You don't, it's something completely different. You can very easily tell by the fact that it looks nothing like any LSI SAS 2008 or 2308 HBA card.

Additionally, being SAS 3Gb/s, it's limited to 2TB drives.

cyberjock

Inactive Account
I would say that:

1. Nobody here has any experience with that card.
2. You may or may not be able to flash it to IT mode, and your card may or may not be a good fit for FreeNAS.
3. That card almost certainly is limited to 2TB drives.

Based on all 3 I would probably give up on that card and go with something that is more status-quo and works for others in the forum. You don't want to be the guy on an island alone when things go wrong.

renjithc

Dabbler
Thanks cyberjock.

well - the only motivation was the card was free. Guess I'll stick to recommended cards. I've one question though - the recommended M1015 is cross flashed to 9211 HBA firmware .. why not buy an LSI 9211-8i HBA directly? It's on ebay for 75-105$ and the M1015 @ 100-125$. I'm not being frugal here - sounded simpler not having to go through the whole cross flashing first and getting it wrong cycle.

cyberjock

Inactive Account
Hehe. The 9211-8i normally is the same price. If the "real thing" is cheaper, by all means go for it.