First NAS build for home backups

Status
Not open for further replies.

mrmike123

Cadet
Hello this is my first time in this forum so I hope its in the right place
Im going to use an old PC as a NAS for backing up me and my families computers (4PCs 1 macbook)
My old pc has;
2x500GB drives 1X128GB SSD which is going to be used for NAS OS
AMD 4150 bulldozer
8GB DDR3 1600MHz ram
My questions are these;
Would anyone recommend a 2tb western digital green for NAS use?
Also how viable is this system and is Free NAS the best or simplest option for backing up several PCs on a network, (is it easy/simple to perform windows backups across a network?)
Thanks in advance!

sremick

Patron
Do more reading, my friend. There are a number of serious issues with your proposed setup.
  • You don't install the FreeNAS OS onto HDDs. You install it onto a USB flash drive
  • AMD CPUs have known issues and are advised against
  • You need ECC RAM
  • Information about using the WD Green drives is in abundance on these forums
Because these are major issues, not hidden and discussed frequently, I'd go FULL STOP on your plans and read and research for a few more weeks to get yourself up to speed.

mrmike123

Cadet
Wow thanks for the heads up.
Btw I wrote that OS bit wrong (shouldn't be posting at 2:40 am), its going to be on an 8GB flash drive
Are the AMD CPUs bad for all NAS solutions or is it a freeNAS?
I think I might invest more into it at another time, thanks for the help

danb35

Hall of Famer
AMD's support for FreeBSD (or FreeBSD's support for AMD, take your pick) is spotty at best. I ran FreeNAS 8 and 9 (through 9.2.something) on an AMD chip, but it isn't something I'd recommend.

Chris Dawalt

Explorer
mrmike123 - I am new to FreeNAS too and it sounds like you're wanting to do what I am now doing. Here is some background info from my introduction: https://forums.freenas.org/index.php?threads/new-to-freenas.25120/