New NAS build - Need Advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

NewNASGuy

Dabbler
Hello there FreeNAS community .

Currently , i am thinking of building a NAS server ( if thats the correct wording ?? ) , for home use , and occasional business use .

Meaning , most of the time its going to be backups from my gaming PC , storing movies , pictures , files and probably Plex aswell .

Im new to FreeNAS as an OS , but learning it shouldnt be an issue , im more worried about the hardware .

This is what i originally had planned as the system :
- AMD Opteron 4274 ( octa core @ 50W , 2.5Ghz base , 2.8 / 3.5 Ghz Turbo )
- Supermicro H8SCM-F C32 Socket motherboard , mATX , 4DIMM slots , 3 LAN ports , 4x Sata 3Gbit ports )
- 32GB Hynix DDR3 1600Mhz ECC REG RAM
- Noctua NH-U9DO A3 Cooler
- 2x 2TB WD Blue drives
- 350W PSU
- Antec VSK-3000 mATX case

Is this going to be enough for my needs ? Maybe faster HDDs ?

Also , this is the first time i have heard of SATA DOM , so if someone could shed some light on this .

BigDave

FreeNAS Enthusiast
Is this going to be enough for my needs ? Maybe faster HDDs ?
The drives you have are not designed for 24/7 operation and would not be recommended. See the "Recommended Hardware, Read This First"
post in the hardware forum section.
Also , this is the first time i have heard of SATA DOM , so if someone could shed some light on this .

dompicture.JPG

DOM stands for: Disk On Module (pictured is a Supermicro model)
It plugs directly into a SATA port and also needs 5v power,
the methods to connect to power are many and varied.
These are fairly popular for a boot device in FreeNAS.

NewNASGuy

Dabbler
So , WD Reds then ? Along with one of those 32GB ROMs ?

What about the rest of the system ?

Mirfster

Doesn't know what he's talking about
AMD Opteron 4274 ( octa core @ 50W , 2.5Ghz base , 2.8 / 3.5 Ghz Turbo )