First FreeNAS restore weirdness

Status
Not open for further replies.

DAXQ

Contributor
Sorry in advance for the long winded question, but I believe it needs background.

I have been running freeNAS for a couple of months now on older hardware [HP Prolaint ML370 G6 - not a slouch server by any means, but certainly older - and not the greatest raid config with its 16 drives set up individually]. I was thrust into a restore with my HP server - one of my main production servers [IBM System x3650 M3] lost a raid controller. So I had to restore my VM's off the HP FreeNAS server last night rather unexpectedly. I use Veeam B&R to take nightly backups of the servers for just this kind of thing.

For my set up, I am using:
  • Veeam running on a PC
  • Veeam connects to a Linux Datastore that is using NFS
  • The Linux DataStore is connecting to FreeNAS via NFS mount
  • This setup is how I backup and restore the VM's and the backup part has worked very well
The back up (using CBT and DeDup etc...) can really cut down on the amount of data being sent to FreeNAS, however as all of you surely know - restoration is a different animal entirely. There is no way around a slow painful restore for larger files/VM Drives.

The Restore worked great on smaller servers (DC's & Small File servers 60GB - 150GB) however while restoring one of my application specific servers 699GB - it was a different thing - and I am not sure I understand how it worked - by all rights I would have expected the restoration to have failed, but it didn't and I wonder if one of you guys may be able to shed some light on it.