BUILD First FreeNAS Build -- Suggestions?

Status
Not open for further replies.

batmanrob

Cadet
Greetings! I'm new to FreeNAS and would like some input on my build. I've been reading a lot of forum posts (cyberjock's hw recommendations and ericloewe's X10 threads were excellent). I don't want to go overboard, but I want to do it right.

This box will be for primary document/image/video backup from our desktops (the data is < 2TB and important and will remain backed up also in a secondary location) and also for shorter-term video storage and a Plex media server (another computer records and processes TV shows/movies and transfers to the NAS when complete).

For the motherboard it sounds like it will be fine as long as I get the updated BIOS. Since cyberjock's sticky was pre-9.3, is there a motherboard that is more recommended now? Or have any of those recommendations changed? https://forums.freenas.org/index.php?threads/hardware-recommendations-read-this-first.23069/

I wasn't planning on going with more than 6 hard drives, so it sounds like Z2 is the way to go. Will the 1GB network be the bottleneck? I read a few posts about performance problems with Z2 over Z1, but it seems like they occur more often when 4 or 5 HD are used?

Open to suggestions! Thanks!

Case: Fractal Design Define R5
PS: Corsair CS450M (I have a new one laying around, although if the Seasonic G-450 is that much better, I'll grab one)
Motherboard: Supermicro X10SLL+-F
CPU: Intel Core i3-4370 3.8GHz (or go up to a Xeon?)
Memory: Crucial 16GB DDR3 1600 ECC Unbuffered CT2KIT102472BD160B
HD: 6 x WD Red 3TB
USB: SanDisk Ultra Fit 16GB

Jailer

Not strong, but bad
Looks like a great choice of parts for a first build that should serve you well for several years.