First Build Planning - Hardware Verification and Questions

wheresmydata

Cadet
I've been using a hardware RAID card with a single 2x 1TB mirror pair of drives in my main desktop computer for quite a few years for data storage and I'm ready to step up to building my first NAS. I've spent a few nights reading through the forums and learning so hopefully I can ask my questions semi-intelligently but please bear with me I'm still learning.

Use case
Storage of 3d renders, Unity game development projects, photos, GoPro video etc. I currently do my Unity work directly on my RAID drive and would like to continue doing that on my NAS. I will do video editing locally on NVMe and will use the NAS for video storage only. I do not plan to run PLEX or anything like that and I will be the only user.

Pool and performance planning
I would like to have a single pool of about 10 TB total storage. As I understand it from reading the forums, the performance of the pool is related to the number of vdevs in it and each vdev will have read/write performance approximately equal to that of a single constituent HDD. So 2 vdevs means a pool with about 2x the speed of a single HDD.

I'm thinking I will purchase 8x WD Red Plus 4TB HDDs and set them up in two RaidZ2 vdevs with 4 disks each, which should give me a single pool of about 12-ish TB and double the read/write performance of my current RAID. This seems to be a pretty good balance of redundancy, speed and cost. Assuming 130 MB/s sequential read/write performance HDDs and 2 vdevs, max speed should be ~260 MB/s for the pool. A 2.5 Gbe LAN will be needed to not bottleneck this. I understand this is max possible speed and lots of variables affect real-world performance, but does this make sense for planning so far?

Hardware
Nothing here is set in stone, but this is what I'm thinking. I haven't purchased anything yet.