ffmpeg error in fresh Nextcloud jail

rippledabs

Cadet
Hi everyone. I'm brand new to TrueNAS and have been trying to figure out how to get Nextcloud to preview movies. I think I tracked it down to an error in ffmpeg. I think I'm doing something dumb here, ffmpeg doesn't want to work. This is a fresh nextcloud jail. See error below.

Jail is 13.1-RELEASE-p9

root@nextjail:~ # ffmpeg
ld-elf.so.1: /usr/local/lib/libtasn1.so.6: Undefined symbol "strverscmp@FBSD_1.7"

Any pointers?

victort

Guru
The 13.1-RELEASE jails have an issue right now. That same error has been coming up multiple times already in different threads.

I would recommend you don’t use plugins, as they are deprecated. Instead, install Nextcloud using the installation script I have linked to in my signature.

After that, report back and I will guide you further on how to add the previews.

thegoodgood

Cadet
I found the solution! I had this issue with jellyfin when I updated the jail. Turns out the libtasn1 version 4.19 removed some functionality that ffmpeg requires. A solution is to downgrade libtasn1 to version 4.18 from HERE. I personally compiled and installed this. Keep in mind this may introduce vulnerabilities that are patched in the new version I have not analyzed the changes so use at your own risk.

lmcore

Cadet
Hi everyone, I have the same error after upgrading the nextcloud to version 27. What is the command to downgrade the libtasn1 to version 4.18 in the nextcloud jail? Thanks in advance.

nickt

Contributor
Having only just upgraded from TN 12 to 13, I just encountered this problem in a jail I use for a bunch of scripts, one of which uses ffmpeg. There's probably a better way, but I discovered that I had version 4.17 in /var/cache/pkg, presumably left over from TN 12. I was able to downgrade, as follows:

Code:
$ cd /var/cache/pkg
$ sudo pkg delete -f libtasn1-4.19.0
$ sudo pkg add -f libtasn1-4.17.0.pkg