Family storage - streaming - virt. machines

tadeus

Dabbler
Hello,

I am new at freenas and I am planning to build my new homeserver with freenas. The tasks of my new machine are:
1.) whole family storage of pics and movies with backups (internal and at a external server)
2.) I want to use it as streaming storage for my movie files. Streaming and video transcoding with Plex or similar
3.) i will host 2 virtual machines (Linux and Win10)

a.) Am I right with freenas?

b.) How is it with HDD on which freenas is installed? On my old Linux server I used 1 big 500gb SSD for the Linux system, the software (virtualbox, streamingsoftware etc.) and the guest VMs (windows linux). For the data (pic/movie storage, movies for streaming) i used 2x4tb software raid 1
How is it with freenas, because i read that the whole system ssd is only used for the freenas system self. What about the software and vms? Will i need a additional drive for this? Or can I use for this the system ssd?

c.) Thats my planned components:
Board: Fujitsu D3644-B
CPU: Intel Core i3-9100, 4x 3.60GHz
RAM: 2x Samsung DIMM 8GB, DDR4-2666, CL19-19-19, ECC
Storage Raid 1: 2x Western Digital WD Red 6TB
Internal Backup: 1x WD Green 6TB
System: Samsung SSD 970 EVO Plus 500GB, M.2 , but if I can this ssd only for the system, it is too big
Is this system ok?

Thank you in advance

Regards

tadeus

First - take a look at the recommended specs for FreeNAS HERE. They are a good starting place.

Thoughts:
  • 16 GB seems rather light for FreeNAS plus a Windows 10 and Linux host in a VM. Whether ECC is needed seems to have a few threads on the forum.
  • The boot (system) drive can't be used for storage. I picked up a couple of Kingston 120GB SSDs for $25 (Canadian) each.
  • I'd recommend an HBA flashed to IT mode (not sure about the controller on the Fujitsu board)
  • FreeNAS is based on FreeBSD. Similar to Linux but not the same. A good starting point, though

Last edited:

tadeus

Dabbler