External drive backup

Status
Not open for further replies.

dtom10

Explorer
Hello forum,

I'm just beginning with Freenas and NAS in general. My setup is just for home use and I plan on creating a RAIDZ1 pool out of 4 X 1Tb various drives that I've salvaged from my devices. I've taken apart two of my WD Mybook external drives based on WD Green drives. I have another WD Black drive and one Seagate ES series drive.

Yeah, I know it's not something advisable to do but I plan on addressing this matter in the next couple of months. Changing the drives one by one to something larger and with the same specs.

I have another 3Tb Mybook drive that I plan on using as a backup solution if the pool fails. What I need to know if this is a good practice if I create a vdev out of this external drive and mount it on demand to replicate data onto it. I don't see any provisioning in the web interface for this kind of a task.

I would expect some form of mount/umount kind of option for USB drives but I couldn't find one so I'm asking beforehand if that's the way I can do this or not. A second NAS box is out of the question.

Fraoch

Patron
No, FreeNAS doesn't support external drives - quite on purpose. External USB drives just aren't reliable. Most cannot monitor the health of the hard drive using SMART. If they encounter an error, they may just disconnect and reconnect, then continue writing corrupted data.

Also please be aware of the risks you're taking with RAID-Z1. You have 4 drives - ideal for RAID-Z2.

DrKK

FreeNAS Generalissimo
No, FreeNAS doesn't support external drives - quite on purpose. External USB drives just aren't reliable. Most cannot monitor the health of the hard drive using SMART. If they encounter an error, they may just disconnect and reconnect, then continue writing corrupted data.

Also please be aware of the risks you're taking with RAID-Z1. You have 4 drives - ideal for RAID-Z2.