Error wiping drive before adding to new volume.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jakenaked

Cadet
Heyo,

I am new to FreeNAS and have been having some trouble with my new setup.

After building a new NAS box I set up a 3 x 3TB zfs pool / dataset. Everything is working 100% fine with it.
Previously I was running a Win2k8 server that contained two 3TB and a 750GB HDD. I was able to mount the old NTFS drives and copy over information, I was pleasantly surprised how easy it was to mount NTFS drives in FreeNAS. I didn't have quite enough free space in the new ZFS pool for all of the data, so my plan was to copy all that I could to the new drives, then wipe one of the 3TB drives and convert it to a ZFS, then copy the remaining data over to that. I could then wipe the other 3TB drive and, if possible, mirror it with the first of the old NTFS drives or just use both of the old 3TB drives as unreliable extra storage.

The specific problem I am having is wiping the NTFS drives after they have been imported. When I go to the ZFS volume manager and attempt to add either the 750GB or the empty 3TB drive to a new pool I get the following messages:

Code:
Aug 23 13:43:00 freenas notifier: swapoff: /dev/ada2p1.eli: No such file or directory
Aug 23 13:43:00 freenas notifier: swapoff: /dev/ada4p1.eli: No such file or directory
Aug 23 13:43:00 freenas notifier: swapoff: /dev/ada5p1.eli: No such file or directory
Aug 23 13:43:00 freenas notifier: dd: /dev/ada1: Operation not permitted
Aug 23 13:43:00 freenas notifier: dd: /dev/ada1: Operation not permitted
Aug 23 13:43:00 freenas manage.py: [middleware.exceptions:38] [MiddlewareError: Unable to GPT format the disk "ada1"]

And if I simply go to "View Disks" and try to wipe either drive I get:

Code:
Aug 23 13:44:58 freenas manage.py: [middleware.exceptions:38] [MiddlewareError: Failed to wipe ada1p2: dd: /dev/ada1p2: Operation not permitted ]