ERROR “Partial plugin destroyed” while re-installing plex media server

jonas.albrr

Dabbler
NAS Version#: TrueNAS-12.0-U1.1
Plex Server Plugin Version#: 1.21.1.3876
While trying to install a Plex Media Server in a FreeNAS jail I get the following Error Message and the end of installing process :
"Error: plex had a failure Exception: RuntimeError Message: Last 10 lines: Partial plugin destroyed"

Background information: Before I tried to install the server again, I already had a running Plex Media Server. However the local WebApp was permanently unavailable. As I did not figure out, what the problem was, I deleted the plugin and wanted to install it again.
However, as you see: This did not work out.

Samuel Tai

Never underestimate your own stupidity
You may have better luck with @danb35's script instead of the plugin:

jonas.albrr

Dabbler
Hi, thanks for the fast reply. Is this script also suitable for TrueNAS 12 as was writen for FreeNAS? I'm new to this, so forgive my possible stupid question :)

Samuel Tai

Yes, I believe so.

Samuel Tai

4. How do I run the script "./plex-jail.sh"?

For the jail, expand the < on the right, and then click Shell. This will open a shell inside the jail. In this jail shell, you should be root; if not, run sudo su - to become root. Then, from root's shell, just run ./plex-jail.sh from where you git clone'd the upstream tree.

Samuel Tai

pkg install git

danb35

Hall of Famer
Perfect. Just to be clear:
  1. I create a jail
No. The script creates the jail. You download the script somewhere on your FreeNAS system and run it from there.

danb35

Hall of Famer

jonas.albrr

Dabbler
However now it fails again, probably a misake in the plex-config file. I kinda just copied the example and chaged the IP adresses:

Creating jail pms. This may take a minute, please be patient.
Please provide a valid ip: Only decimal digits permitted '41\r' in '192.168.178.41\r'
Failed to create jail

So I deleted the '.', but now I got this response: