SOLVED Ditching the HBA and connecting HDD to Mobo

In my newly found hobby of reducing power usage of stuff in my household, because energy costs skyrocketed in Germany, I thought about ditching my mighty x-flashed Dell H310 and connect everything to SATA.
My motherboard has enough slots, so I should be good right? RIGHT?

Jokes aside, I didn't found any exact power usage of RAID cards, ServeTheHome lists some cards with values between 6 to 12 watts. The max wattage makes about 1/10th of my total consumption, so it should save some money, in the long run.

Anything I didn't thought about? Supermicro specific BIOS settings to deactivate hardware RAID maybe...

ChrisRJ

Wizard
It's what I've been doing for over 10 years with various boards. While that in itself is purely anecdotal, I am not aware of any limitations from this forum.

Well, perhaps if you want to run TrueNAS in a VM, a separate HBA for pass-through is needed. I even seem to remember that the HBA introduces some latency (albeit only a small amount) relative to the ports on the motherboard.

Thanks Chris,
perhaps if you want to run TrueNAS in a VM,
that I did have in mind too, but the Grinch scared me away :lol:
I'll shelve it for now.

jgreco

Resident Grinch
some cards with values between 6 to 12 watts.

Usually a bit tighter than that, figure about 8-10, for older 8i cards like the 9211 and 9240. But still ballpark correct. This just follows my usual testing technique of taking a large E-ATX system, finding out if it's watt-stable when redirected into BIOS using the bench power meter, then cramming like half a dozen of the card in question in and seeing where the watts end up. Then divide the difference by the number of cards.