Difficulty reverting back to 11.3 after goomg to truenas beta

johny3

Dabbler
Hi all
So j am using an old enterprise hp system. I was running 11.3 well mostly just using for smb shares to start and expanding uses over time. I decided to try out the beta but my smb share never made it over so I tried going back to 11.3. After reading up online I figured setting up 11.3 on a new flash drive,b booting and then loading my config should work.
That is not working.
I was able to create a new bootable 11.3 usb and boot into freenas on the system but I end up getting an error. It sits at trying to mount root from zfs: freenas-boot/root/default []...
I went to mow and ended up with this error.
20200712_162633.jpg

Any idea what I am doing wrong?
Thank you

Samuel Tai

Never underestimate your own stupidity
It mounted, and needs networking to set the system time. Hit Enter to bring up the 11.3 console menu.

johny3

Dabbler
My apologies I'm new to working in console. Anyway, I got to the menu after getting the network connected. The ip is correct but when I try to access thru the ip it "took too long to repond"
I have the menu up, going to read the wiki

johny3

Dabbler
ok I am in and could get in thru the web gui. I think it wanted the internet cord in the other ethernet port :)

uploading the saved config let's hope it works!

johny3

Dabbler
ok
so I am getting that sometimes reported error/issue where the web gui is not immediately accessible after boot.
but that aside, when I go to my pools my pool for my jails and my main pool both say "unknown" and when I go to status it is empty.

Do I need to reimport the pools?
If I go to disks there are there and are "unused"

I go to import pool but there is nothing listed. I assume this is because I did not export the pool.
Is there a guide somewhere to do this (Sorry I googled)

Last edited:

Samuel Tai

when I go to my pools my pool for my jails and my main pool both say "unknown" and when I go to status it is empty.