Dell r720xd H310 mini and SATA

nojstevens

Cadet
Hello,

I have a gap in my understanding but i am not a complete newb to this. I have already built and run perfectly a FreeNAS AIO in ESXi on a Supermicro Xeon-D.

My question, however, relates to a Dell r720xd that i purchased from eBay, and the H310 mini card that i purchased pre-flashed to LSI 9211-8i P20 IT mode.

I have ESXi installed on the Dell, and have passed the card (that shows as an LSI 9211) through using vt-D. I have installed FreeNAS on an iSCSI datastore on a different device.

I have installed 2 x WD RED NAS SATA drives in two of the bays in the 720.

FreeNAS can see a Samsung 860 SD that is in the rear SAS expander, but it is not seeing either of the 2 RED SATA drives in the front.

My guess is that this is something to do with the differrence between SAS and SATA? Am i correct? If so, what do i need to do to have my 12 Bays able to contain SATA drives and show up in FreeNAS as an AIO with ESXi?

I feel i should know the answer to this, or at least know what to google... but im missing something - or I am searching in the wrong place

Jon

nojstevens

Cadet
A bit more on this....

The server i purchased had a H710p/1GB Raid Card when it arrived. I pulled that out and put in a H310 Mini mono from eBay that had been pre-flashed to IT mode. I did not change any cables, i left the cables that were connecting the backplace and the H710p. Could this be why i am having an issue, i.e. do i need different cables now i changed to H310 mini?

dir_d

Explorer
I have a 720xd as well. I am running ESXi and have the H710p Raid card connected to the Rear Expansion for ESXi Storage and Guest VMs. I use 2x 1TB SSDs in a RAID 1. I then have the Front 12x Sata/Sas ports connected to a LSI 9207-8i, which is passed through to my Freenas VM.