Dell R710 Questions about what I need.

Status
Not open for further replies.

pwnerman

Explorer
Hello,

I am not an expert and I have come here for help. I was on here a few months ago inquiring about if buying a Dell R710 on the cheap from eBay would work with FreeNas. I was looking to built a NAS to store all my data with a bunch of drives I could access all the time without having my main rig PC on all the time. I held off but now my storage in my PC is running out and I need a better option.

It would seem to fit everything I need. The PC power is there unlike an even more expensive option from QNAP or other companies and the price is low because of all the old stock. They use Zeon processors and you can get tons of ECC ram on the cheap which FreeNas apparently loves lots of. I mean what isn't there to like besides the size, energy usage and noise but that last one is apparently that of an actual PC which doesn't bother me. I actually sleep with mine right next to me all the time and the others don't bother me either.

So this is what I'm here to ask you the experts.

I want to buy this R710 right here at this link. http://www.ebay.com/itm/Dell-PowerE...49609600?hash=item2a6eec5980&autorefresh=true

I was made aware on my other question that I would need a H200 RAID controller flashed into IT mode. I plan on using 3-4 TB HDD's. Is this my best option for FreeNAS?

I also know I will need some other small parts like some HDD caddies and I plan on getting some more RAM but is there anything else you guys see that I'm missing that I would need to have a nice FreeNas system?

I also want to know what is the best way of installed FreeNas. Should I use one drive for an SSD or is a USB stick sufficient? I have never done this type of computer work before so info about this would be helpful.