Dataset is diaplaying almost 161% more space used than what is in the file system

So I'm brand new to this thread but am hoping that someone here can help me with an issue that I'm seeing in my truenas system.

I've recently decided to download my entire CD/DVD collection to my server and for a while it was working fantastic but after trying to get everything to show up on plex and moving some files around to organize them into categories for different users I noticed that my Truenas Core now shows 161% more space taken than what is actually on the file system:
1673038760587.png

Is there anything I can do to reduce the empty 1.2tb that is being used by nothing or should I work on creating another Dataset and migrating it all to that and starting from scratch?

Any help is greatly appreciated and I thank you for any advice in advance!
-J

Ericloewe

Server Wrangler
Sounds like some snapshots ended up duplicating stuff you moved around (and possibly deleted and re-uploaded, or something).

What's the output of zfs list -o space NasStorage/Meda?

anodos

Sambassador
iXsystems
Generally speaking, ZFS space accounting is complex. You should use ZFS-aware tools to investigate space usage and not File Explorer. We provide basic ZFS stats to it (File Explorer / SMB client), but there are some fundamental assumptions in how that application works that don't line up well with realities on ZFS.

Last edited:
Sounds like some snapshots ended up duplicating stuff you moved around (and possibly deleted and re-uploaded, or something).

What's the output of zfs list -o space NasStorage/Meda?
1673096686204.png

That would be this here so it thinks there's more in there than what actually is.

But yes I did have to readd some of them as it wasn't displaying on my plex properly so I thought that was the trick.

Ericloewe

Server Wrangler