Created date removed from all files copied to Truenas from Mac

Hi community,

I am a novice Truenas user and this is my first install and first post. As the title says, when I copy files to my TrueNas from my Mac, the created date of the file disappears. I still have modified date, but that's just the same as the time of the copy. This varies from being annoying to being quite serious. I dont have the same problem from Windows. Apart from this I have not experienced any problems with TrueNas.

TrueNAS Version: TrueNAS Scale 12.02.2.1
Mac Version: Mac OS 12.4
Share Type: SMB. I have ticked "Enable Apple SMB2/3 Protocol Extensions" on the service but don't have any other parameters entered. When I created the share, under the "Purpose" field I have used "Default share parameters".

Has anyone else had this issue? Have I maybe missed a step on the configuration? Any help would be appreciated.

when I copy files to my TrueNas from my Mac, the created date of the file disappears.
As far as I'm aware, "creation date" is too low-level to override. We only have control over "modification time".

I still have modified date, but that's just the same as the time of the copy.
I don't have a Mac to test this with, but from a Linux client or Windows client, the modification time stays preserved (down to the very second) when I copy a file to an SMB share on TrueNAS.

EMP-Tea

Dabbler
when I copy files to my TrueNas from my Mac, the created date of the file disappears.

I also ran into this problem in TrueNAS Core 12.0-U8.1 over SMB. I tried using AFP instead but it has its own issues. Switching to 13.0-U1 and using AFP preserved metadata— like created date— but macOS rebooted from what I assume was a kernel panic in the middle of one transfer so I don't know how stable it is. Plus I was told AFP has been removed from Scale, so that doesn't help your situation.

anodos

Sambassador
iXsystems
Hi community,