Cloning TrueNAS boot SSD to new SSD, boot on new SSD.

Kasazn

Explorer
I was wondering what is the best software or ways to use to clone my existing boot pool (a M.2 SATA3 SSD) to a new one and boot it off the new one.

I have both Linux and Windows system ready for anything.

Reason for doing this is there's report of the SSD boot pool is degraded from last year already but I have been brushing it off. Too lazy to setup a new system from scratch. I plan to clone the SSD to a new one on the next opportunity when I shutdown my TrueNAS SCALE machine for dusting/cleaning/repasting and also if budgeting allows.

Last edited:

sretalla

Powered by Neutrality
Why would you waste your time with that? (and risk ending up with a mismatched ashift)

Install a fresh TrueNAS and restore your config on it.

Kasazn

Explorer
I have no knowledge on mismatched ashift. Thanks for the heads up. I'm just going to constantly backup my configurations to my secure storage and if one day it fails, I'll just stick one new m.2 SSD and reinstall from scratch.

sretalla

Powered by Neutrality
I have no knowledge on mismatched ashift.
FYI, this is what it looks like:

Code:
  pool: freenas-boot
 state: ONLINE
status: One or more devices are configured to use a non-native block size.
    Expect reduced performance.
action: Replace affected devices with devices that support the
    configured block size, or migrate data to a properly configured
    pool.
  scan: scrub repaired 0B in 00:00:18 with 0 errors on Fri Feb 25 03:45:18 2022
config:

NAME          STATE     READ WRITE CKSUM
    freenas-boot  ONLINE       0     0     0
      ada2p2      ONLINE       0     0     0  block size: 512B configured, 4096B native

You can create that situation by either mirroring an SSD together with a USB stick with a different ashift (native block size) and then removing the USB stick... or by using another direct disk copy like dd to transfer it over.