• Currently using VMware at work? We want to hear from you.

    Thinking of making a switch from VMware? We'd love to hear your thoughts and feedback about which hypervisor you have been researching or already using. Click here to vote and share your thoughts! You can vote HERE!

CIFS stopped working after upgrade

Status
Not open for further replies.

Stenull

Dabbler
Joined
Aug 22, 2011
Messages
45
Hi!
So i upgraded to 8.0.3 via cd and used the option to preserve my settings.
Everything is as it was before but my CIFS shares dosn't show up on my windows client.
Ive tried to alter some settings and restart CIFS but with the same results.
Heres a prtscn from console msg
cifserror.bmp

I marked whats popping up when i do a refresh on windows machine.
Any hints?
 
G

gcooper

Guest
Hi!
So i upgraded to 8.0.3 via cd and used the option to preserve my settings.
Everything is as it was before but my CIFS shares dosn't show up on my windows client.
Ive tried to alter some settings and restart CIFS but with the same results.
Heres a prtscn from console msg
cifserror.bmp

I marked whats popping up when i do a refresh on windows machine.
Any hints?

Can you please run df -h and pastebin the results somewhere? I highly doubt it's this issue, but I could be wrong.

After that, could you please share your global and share configuration for CIFS please?
 

truckerclock

Cadet
Joined
Jan 4, 2012
Messages
3
Can you please run df -h and pastebin the results somewhere? I highly doubt it's this issue, but I could be wrong.

After that, could you please share your global and share configuration for CIFS please?

I am having the same problem after upgrading from 8.0.2 to 8.0.3 and get the same console messages as the OP. I can see my shared folders but get a network resource unavailable message when trying to open them.

The output of df -h is below

Filesystem Size Used Avail Capacity Mounted on
/dev/ufs/FreeNASs1a 927M 353M 499M 41% /
devfs 1.0K 1.0K 0B 100% /dev
/dev/md0 4.6M 1.9M 2.3M 44% /etc
/dev/md1 824K 2.5K 756K 0% /mnt
/dev/md2 149M 9.5M 128M 7% /var
/dev/ufs/FreeNASs4 20M 707K 18M 4% /data
Disk1 145G 4.4G 140G 3% /mnt/Disk1
Disk2 71G 23K 71G 0% /mnt/Disk2
/dev/md3 1.0G 936K 926M 0% /var/tmp/.cache


Global CIFS config is

Authentication model Local User
Netbios name FREENAS
Workgroup Workgroup
Description FreeNAS server
DOS Charset CP437
unix charset UTF-8
Log level minimum
local master unchecked
time server for domain unchecked
Guest account nobody
allow guest access checked
allow only guest access unchecked
file mask empty
directory mask empty
large rw support checked
send files with sendfile(2) checked
ea support unchecked
support dos file attributed checked
allow empty password unchecked
auxiliary parameters empty
enable home directories checked
enable home directories browsing unchecked
home directories /mnt/Disk2
Minimum AIO read size 1
Minimum AIO write size 1
Zeroconf share discovery unchecked

Share configuration is

Name Share2
comment empty
Path /mnt/Disk2
Export read only unchecked
Browsable to network clients checked
inherit owner unchecked
inherit permissions unchecked
export recycle bin unchecked
show hidden files unchecked
guest account nobody
allow guest access checked
allow only guest access unchecked
hosts allow empty
hosts deny empty
auxiliary parameters empty

Storage permissions are set to allow read, write and execute by everyone.

Thanks in advance for any help you can offer.
 
G

gcooper

Guest
Could you both provide your top output and your hardware profiles?
 

truckerclock

Cadet
Joined
Jan 4, 2012
Messages
3
Could you both provide your top output and your hardware profiles?

I turned off the Active Directory service and was able to access my shares, turned the Active Directory service back on and can still access my shares. Not sure what was going on but I have not changed anything but that.
 

Stenull

Dabbler
Joined
Aug 22, 2011
Messages
45
sorry for being lazy but Is there an easy way to extract cifs settings? else i write them down manually tomorrow.

top out
Code:
last pid: 35115;  load averages:  0.01,  0.05,  0.02  up 1+02:09:27    21:33:38
40 processes:  1 running, 39 sleeping

Mem: 132M Active, 812M Inact, 4553M Wired, 844K Cache, 213M Buf, 2416M Free
Swap: 8192M Total, 8192M Free


  PID USERNAME    THR PRI NICE   SIZE    RES STATE   C   TIME   WCPU COMMAND
 1934 root          6  44    0   158M 98144K uwait   1   0:35  0.49% python
 2031 root          7  44    0 65044K  9216K ucond   1   3:03  0.00% collectd
 1689 root          1  44    0  6772K  1252K select  0   1:23  0.00% powerd
 2421 www           1  44    0 21376K  5608K kqread  1   1:07  0.00% lighttpd
 1681 root          1  44    0 11780K  2740K select  0   0:09  0.00% ntpd
 2155 root          1  76    0  7832K  1500K nanslp  0   0:03  0.00% cron
 1870 root          1  44    0 16088K  4604K select  0   0:02  0.00% proftpd
 1253 root          1  44    0  6904K  1456K select  0   0:01  0.00% syslogd
 2338 root          1  44    0  7836K  1540K select  1   0:00  0.00% rpcbind
 2509 root          1  76    0 64100K 24512K ttyin   1   0:00  0.00% python
35091 Stenull       1  44    0 10172K  2832K pause   0   0:00  0.00% csh
35088 root          1  45    0 33304K  5264K sbwait  1   0:00  0.00% sshd
 2133 root          1  44    0 24976K  4620K select  0   0:00  0.00% sshd
35090 Stenull       1  44    0 33304K  5312K select  1   0:00  0.00% sshd
 2342 root          1  44    0  6772K  1560K select  1   0:00  0.00% mountd
35056 root          1  44    0 39208K  6932K select  0   0:00  0.00% nmbd
35060 root          1  44    0 46764K 11680K select  1   0:00  0.00% smbd
35115 Stenull       1  46    0  9224K  2144K CPU1    1   0:00  0.00% top



my HW
Asus Blitz extreme Motherboard
3*500GB + 1*2TB HDDs in RAIDZ
8GB Memory DDR3 1333MHz
CPU intel E6600

Thanx in advance gcooper!
 

Stenull

Dabbler
Joined
Aug 22, 2011
Messages
45
So i did some more testing yesterday,
Strange i can in explorer do "\\FREENAS\media" and access the shares perfectly.
My xbmc machine has no problems playing from my shares.
It's just when im browsing for shares they won't show up. And yes "Browsable to Network Clients" is ticked ...
 
G

gcooper

Guest
@Stenull:

sorry for being lazy but Is there an easy way to extract cifs settings?

- alt-printscreen and paste into Paint if you use Windows.
- Command-U -> Grab -> window grab if you use OSX.
- There are a lot of ways in Unix (Gnome and KDE have been in screenshot tools, etc). I prefer `import -window root screenshot.png' :).

else i write them down manually tomorrow.

top out
Code:
last pid: 35115;  load averages:  0.01,  0.05,  0.02  up 1+02:09:27    21:33:38
40 processes:  1 running, 39 sleeping

Mem: 132M Active, 812M Inact, 4553M Wired, 844K Cache, 213M Buf, 2416M Free
Swap: 8192M Total, 8192M Free


  PID USERNAME    THR PRI NICE   SIZE    RES STATE   C   TIME   WCPU COMMAND
 1934 root          6  44    0   158M 98144K uwait   1   0:35  0.49% python
 2031 root          7  44    0 65044K  9216K ucond   1   3:03  0.00% collectd
 1689 root          1  44    0  6772K  1252K select  0   1:23  0.00% powerd
 2421 www           1  44    0 21376K  5608K kqread  1   1:07  0.00% lighttpd
 1681 root          1  44    0 11780K  2740K select  0   0:09  0.00% ntpd
 2155 root          1  76    0  7832K  1500K nanslp  0   0:03  0.00% cron
 1870 root          1  44    0 16088K  4604K select  0   0:02  0.00% proftpd
 1253 root          1  44    0  6904K  1456K select  0   0:01  0.00% syslogd
 2338 root          1  44    0  7836K  1540K select  1   0:00  0.00% rpcbind
 2509 root          1  76    0 64100K 24512K ttyin   1   0:00  0.00% python
35091 Stenull       1  44    0 10172K  2832K pause   0   0:00  0.00% csh
35088 root          1  45    0 33304K  5264K sbwait  1   0:00  0.00% sshd
 2133 root          1  44    0 24976K  4620K select  0   0:00  0.00% sshd
35090 Stenull       1  44    0 33304K  5312K select  1   0:00  0.00% sshd
 2342 root          1  44    0  6772K  1560K select  1   0:00  0.00% mountd
35056 root          1  44    0 39208K  6932K select  0   0:00  0.00% nmbd
35060 root          1  44    0 46764K 11680K select  1   0:00  0.00% smbd
35115 Stenull       1  46    0  9224K  2144K CPU1    1   0:00  0.00% top



my HW
Asus Blitz extreme Motherboard
3*500GB + 1*2TB HDDs in RAIDZ
8GB Memory DDR3 1333MHz
CPU intel E6600

Ok! What it sounds like is you're potentially running into a different issue from truckerclock, but I could be wrong... whether or not you have AD enabled is crucial to figuring out what your issue is. Also, try ticking the CIFS service on and off... doesn't look like server samba reload does as expected, even though revision r5888 suggests that (which was present before 8.0.1 was released).

@truckerclock:

- Your /var and /var/tmp/.cache directories are almost full; if /var fills up, I know for sure that smbd will die as you see there, and if /var/tmp/.cache fills up, winbind will die.. this is what I saw before with other users. How large is your AD forest?
- Could you please do
Code:
find /var -type d | xargs du -sk | sort -n

and attach the output to pastebin.com (I'm guessing the output is going to be large)?
- Finally, you'll should change the following line:

: ${FREENAS_CACHESIZE:="1g"}

to:

: ${FREENAS_CACHESIZE:="2g"}

in /conf/base/etc/rc.freenas if you have enough RAM and reboot (we should probably make this an advanced FreeNAS tunable from within the GUI).
 

Stenull

Dabbler
Joined
Aug 22, 2011
Messages
45
i found command #cat /usr/local/etc/smb.conf :)
Code:
[global]
    encrypt passwords = yes
    dns proxy = no
    strict locking = no
    read raw = yes
    write raw = yes
    oplocks = yes
    max xmit = 65535
    deadtime = 15
    display charset = LOCALE
    max log size = 10
    syslog only = yes
    syslog = yes
    load printers = no
    printing = bsd
    printcap name = /dev/null
    disable spoolss = yes
    smb passwd file = /var/etc/private/smbpasswd
    private dir = /var/etc/private
    getwd cache = yes
    guest account = nobody
    map to guest = Bad Password
    netbios name = freenas
    workgroup = WORKGROUP
    server string = FreeNAS Server
    use sendfile = yes
    store dos attributes = yes
    local master = yes
    time server = yes
    security = user
    create mask = 0666
    create mask = 0666
    directory mask = 0777
    client ntlmv2 auth = yes
    dos charset = CP437
    unix charset = UTF-8
    log level = 2


[Media]
    path = /mnt/Tank1/Media
    printable = no
    veto files = /.snap/.windows/
    writeable = yes
    browseable = yes
    inherit owner = yes
    inherit permissions = yes
    vfs objects = zfsacl
    inherit acls = Yes
    map archive = No
    map readonly = no
    nfs4:mode = special
    nfs4:acedup = merge
    nfs4:chown = yes


[Jenny]
    path = /mnt/Tank1/shares/Jenny
    printable = no
    veto files = /.snap/.windows/
    writeable = yes
    browseable = yes
    inherit owner = yes
    inherit permissions = yes
    vfs objects = zfsacl recycle
    recycle:repository = .recycle/%U
    recycle:keeptree = yes
    recycle:versions = yes
    recycle:touch = yes
    recycle:directory_mode = 0777
    recycle:subdir_mode = 0700
    inherit acls = Yes
    map archive = No
    map readonly = no
    nfs4:mode = special
    nfs4:acedup = merge
    nfs4:chown = yes


Im not using AD. but tried to switch it on/off after reading that truckerclock did so, with out success...


is this for me also?
gcooper said:
- Finally, you'll should change the following line:

: ${FREENAS_CACHESIZE:="1g"}

to:

: ${FREENAS_CACHESIZE:="2g"}

in /conf/base/etc/rc.freenas if you have enough RAM and reboot

and here's my Pastebin of df -h
http://pastebin.com/eCuk5LtD

i also noticed that my nas do not resolve dns any more...
 

truckerclock

Cadet
Joined
Jan 4, 2012
Messages
3
The results of the command you requested can be found here http://pastebin.com/raw.php?i=zNL2pHqm . The forest is not large at all it is just a home domain with 1 DC and 5 workstations. My FreeNAS server is a Dell PowerEdge 600SC with a 2.4ghz P4, 4GB RAM and currently just 1 80GB IDE and 1 160GB IDE drive for testing. Do I have enough RAM to make the changes you specified? I am now having a problem with the server hanging when copying files after about 15 seconds into the process in 8.0.3 but can go back to 8.0.2 and do not have this problem. In 8.0.2 I only get transfer speeds of around 14MB/s and in 8.0.3 I get about 33MB/s until it freezes. I have tried this with both UFS and ZFS and get the same results. I know my machine is not very powerful but I would think it could handle at least one file transfer. The message in the display when it freezes is below. Let me know if I need to post a separate thread for this problem. Thanks again.

NMI....going to debugger
[thread pid 3831 tid 100177]
stopped at uma_zalloc_arg 0x20a: add1 $0x1, 0x8(%ebx)
<db>
 

Stenull

Dabbler
Joined
Aug 22, 2011
Messages
45
Strange thing.. today my nas showed up on in windows, havn't done any changes.
 

Stenull

Dabbler
Joined
Aug 22, 2011
Messages
45
there's something fishy with cifs.
i deleted share "Jenny" and stop/started cifs service. "Jenny" was still showing up in windows. i took a look in smb.conf and the share was still there.
did another reboot of cifs and no progress.
did a reboot of freenas and now smb.conf was updated...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top