Cheap, Home Build?

Harrisonm65

Dabbler
Has anyone here built a FreeNAS server for use at home using none server grade hardware? Im talking a really small build, maybe with older parts you already had lying around from previous PC builds etc. Nothing too fancy. If so, how does it perform and what are you using it for i.e. just a small home Plex server etc?

Im only asking as Im curious that after reading a little bit in these forums, most people seem to be using server grade kit or have builds that look to be for a business case (in my eyes anyway). Made me think if the community here got involved in small, low cost builds and what results they had.

Antoshka

Dabbler
Hi,

I'm a novice here and I've spent only one week investigating this topic, but the main recommendation is to use server grade hardware due to quality/features and etc.
Yes, it isn't cheap, but you can get some used parts from ebay with pretty nice prices.
In my personal opinion, current community helps more with high end builds and technical questions, so I can recommend to read [deleted] that provides cheap options by parts or by full builds (you can find 174$ build here).

I suggest to tell your budget for the planning build, it could help local experts with more accurate recommendation.

[Mod note: no redirecting people to other forums, please. -JG]

Last edited by a moderator:

mpeck

Dabbler
Hello,

Same for me, I started to take an interest in FreeNAS a few days ago. At the moment I'm looking through the different topics of this forum and the official documentation to get a feel for FreeNAS' "philosophy" and to take note of the recommendations that stand out the most.

My goal is then to start my first build.

Why using server-grade hardware? Here are a few points that I've noticed and this only reflects my personal opinion: