can't get airvpn to work

Mryusef1

Dabbler
I am new to FreeNAS but I have been using linux for a while. I am unable to find any clear information on setting on AirVPN withing a jail. I followed several guides but none of them work. I get an error

Fri Mar 29 00:46:14 2019 Cannot allocate TUN/TAP dev dynamically
Fri Mar 29 00:46:14 2019 Exiting due to fatal error

when I run openvpn airvpn.ovpn.

Can someone please point me in the right direction.

Start by detailing what FreeNAS hardware and software you are using.

Last edited:

jgreco

Resident Grinch
Also, the contents of your AirVPN file. Blank out any user/password. You've basically said "My Toyota won't start when I put the key in." There's a vague hint of a little detail, but nothing useful. What kind of Toyota? What happens? Does it turn over? Do the lights come on? Does the key even turn?

Those of us that manage both the client and server side of OpenVPN in production environments might be able to help you but I've literally NO idea what these shady so-called "VPN provider" companies try to pass off for a configuration. I can tell you that based on the configurations I've created for OpenVPN over many years that a Windows config is not likely to work on FreeBSD or Linux without some adaptation.

Mryusef1

Dabbler
Sorry for the lack of information. This is my first post and I wasn't sure if it would be answered. Thanks for the quick replys. Funny thing though. I got a popup saying there was an upgrade available. I did the upgrade which crashed my system and I havent been able to get it up and running again. However I am running FreeNAS on a HP machine with 8GB of ram 2 WD Blue 4GB Harddrives and onboard Intel network card. I assumed that the TUN was the problem but once a jail is created it wont let me edit it and check the box next to tun because I can't save.

I'm trying to load 11.1 now and see if I have the same problem.

Thanks again for the help.