Register for the iXsystems Community to get an ad-free experience and exclusive discounts in our eBay Store.

Can't get 2nd port of QLogic FC card to connect.

Status
Not open for further replies.

asrrin29

Cadet
Joined
Feb 20, 2018
Messages
1
Hey all! Just started looking at FreeNAS as a SAN solution for my two host homelab. I have a QLogic QLE2462 dual port 4GB FC card inside of a Dell PowerEdge R510 that is going to be my SAN. I'm running FreeNAS 11.1 and using the guide located here to setup my qlogic card as an iSCSI target.

I'm able to get one of my hosts to recognize the SAN, but not a second one. I've verified that either host can see the SAN if I plug them into the first set of fibre ports, so it's not bad cards and/or fibre cables. I'm pretty sure that the second set of ports isn't in Target mode for whatever reason. I thought I had the right syntax down, as I've added the following to my "Tunables" page:

Code:
  • variable:ispfw_load ____value:YES_________type:loader___(start HBA firmware)?
  • variable:ctl_load ______value:YES _________type:loader___(start ctl service)?
  • variable:hint.isp.0.role__value:0 (zero)______type:loader___(target mode FC port 1)?
  • variable:hint.isp.1.role __value:0 (zero)______type:loader___(target mode FC port 2)?
  • variable:hint.isp.2.role __value:0 (zero)______type:loader___(target mode FC port 3)?
  • variable:hint.isp.3.role __value:0 (zero)______type:loader___(target mode FC port 4)?
  • variable:ctladm _______value:port -o on -t fc _type:loader___(bind the ports)?


But the second port isn't coming up. On the physical card, all three lights for the second port are slowly blinking , while the one working is solid.

Does anyone have any ideas?
 

kdragon75

Wizard
Joined
Aug 7, 2016
Messages
2,462
On the second port, are all three light blinking at the same time? This would indicate no link. Its kind of like ethernet link lights. You could try swapping the SFPs and fibers on both ends with the known working ones.
 

stillnick

Dabbler
Joined
Jul 27, 2018
Messages
13
Thanks for your reply kdragon75.

I was just checking if it really works, because I'm planning on getting 3 Qla2462 cards and hook them up all together.

1 NAS (FreeNAS)
2 XenServers.

no switch. P2P connection.

Will that work?

Thanks a lot.
 

kdragon75

Wizard
Joined
Aug 7, 2016
Messages
2,462

stillnick

Dabbler
Joined
Jul 27, 2018
Messages
13
Hi all,

I'm still trying to connect my xenserver to freenas through 2 Qlogic-2460 P2P.

I run the lspci | grep "ISP" and get the following output:
06:00.0 Fibre Channel: QLogic Corp. ISP2312-based 4Gb Fibre Channel to PCI-X HBA
(rev 02)

As long as I get the the card output, I supposed it is working correctly. Maybe?

But, when I go to the XenServer 7.2 and try to add the source HARDWARE HBA, I get the message "No LUNs were found. Please verify your hardware configuration".

I followed this link: https://forums.freenas.org/index.php?threads/fc-target-support-in-freenas-9-1-0.14139/page-2
and this too: https://forums.freenas.org/index.php?resources/fibre-channel-on-freenas-11-1u4.93/

My freenas version is 11.1-U5.


Thanks a lot for any ideas.
 

kdragon75

Wizard
Joined
Aug 7, 2016
Messages
2,462
Whats the output of the commands ctladm portlist -l and ctladm lunlist?
 

stillnick

Dabbler
Joined
Jul 27, 2018
Messages
13
Hi kdragon75,


[root@freenas ~]# ctladm portlist -f
ctladm: option requires an argument -- f
ctladm: option requires an argument -- f
Port Online Frontend Name pp vp
0 YES tpc tpc 0 0
1 NO camsim camsim 0 0 naa.500000058795ab02
2 YES ioctl ioctl 0 0
3 YES camtgt isp0 0 0 naa.210000e08b8eb8e4
4 YES iscsi iscsi 1 1 iqn.2005-10.org.freenas.ctl:fc,t,0x0001


[root@freenas ~]# ctladm lunlist
(7:2:0/0): <FreeNAS iSCSI Disk 0123> Fixed Direct Access SPC-5 SCSI device


EDIT: I forgot to mention: My QLA2460 has a solid orange link, wich I believe means that it's properly linked-up one to another.
 
Last edited:

stillnick

Dabbler
Joined
Jul 27, 2018
Messages
13
upload_2018-8-3_10-20-27.png



One thing I got curios: My FN is my storage and is liked-up direct to my XenServer 7.2, so wouldn't that be hint.isp.0.role=1 as I'm using it as target? Just a thought.

Thanks.
 

kdragon75

Wizard
Joined
Aug 7, 2016
Messages
2,462
You can try it but 3 YES camtgt isp0 0 0 naa.210000e08b8eb8e4 Shows that port 0 is working fine with your settings.
 

kdragon75

Wizard
Joined
Aug 7, 2016
Messages
2,462
Have your tried swapping SFPs and fibers just to make sure its not a hardware issue? The ports should still show up correctly...
 

stillnick

Dabbler
Joined
Jul 27, 2018
Messages
13
I swapped the cards with 1 QLE2462(freenas) and an ISP2312(XenServer).

XenServer:
[root@xenserver-node01 ~]# lspci | grep ISP
02:00.0 Fibre Channel: QLogic Corp. ISP2312-based 2Gb Fibre Channel to PCI-X HBA (rev 02)

[root@xenserver-node01 ~]# dmesg | grep ISP
[ 3.623349] qla2xxx [0000:02:00.0]-001d: : Found an ISP2312 irq 16 iobase 0xffffc9004002a000.
[ 3.906668] qla2xxx [0000:02:00.0]-00fc:0: ISP2312: PCI (33 MHz) @ 0000:02:00.0 hdma+ host#=0 fw=3.03.28 IPX.



FreeNas:
[root@freenas ~]# lspci | grep ISP
01:00.0 Fibre Channel: QLogic Corp. ISP2432-based 4Gb Fibre Channel to PCI Expre
ss HBA (rev 03)

[root@freenas ~]# dmesg | grep ISP
isp0: <Qlogic ISP 2432 PCI FC-AL Adapter> port 0x2000-0x20ff mem 0xe0300000-0xe0
303fff irq 16 at device 0.0 on pci1



The ISP4232(FreeNas) card shows solid green light indicating that it is connected to a 2Gbps port, wich sounds about right, considering the XenServer end has a ISP2312 card.

If I disconect the fiber cable from any end, it starts flashing amber light on both cards. Just the way ti should be.

Anyone have any idea on how to fix it?

Thanks
 

stillnick

Dabbler
Joined
Jul 27, 2018
Messages
13
I just confirmed that the two servers are linked-up with the following output of my XenServer 7.2:

[root@xenserver-node01 ~]# systool -c fc_host -v host0
Class = "fc_host"

Class Device = "host0"
Class Device path = "/sys/devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:1c.0/0000:01:00.0/0000:02:00.0/host0/fc_host/host0"
dev_loss_tmo = "45"
fabric_name = "0xffffffffffffffff"
issue_lip = <store method only>
max_npiv_vports = "0"
node_name = "0x200000e08b88651c"
npiv_vports_inuse = "0"
port_id = "0x88651c"
port_name = "0x210000e08b88651c"
port_state = "Online"
port_type = "Point-To-Point (direct nport connection)"
speed = "2 Gbit"
supported_classes = "Class 3"
supported_speeds = "1 Gbit, 2 Gbit"
symbolic_name = "QLA2340 FW:v3.03.28 DVR:v8.07.00.41.77.1-k"
system_hostname = ""
tgtid_bind_type = "wwpn (World Wide Port Name)"
uevent =
vport_create = <store method only>
vport_delete = <store method only>

Device = "host0"
Device path = "/sys/devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:1c.0/0000:01:00.0/0000:02:00.0/host0"
fw_dump =
nvram = "ISP "
optrom_ctl = <store method only>
optrom =
reset = <store method only>
uevent = "DEVTYPE=scsi_host"
 

kdragon75

Wizard
Joined
Aug 7, 2016
Messages
2,462
This is why you should start your own thread and not threadjack. I assumed you had the same issue with the same cards. Now I see that you only have a single port card.
3 YES camtgt isp0 0 0 naa.210000e08b8eb8e4
This still indicates there is a target being presented on that port. No we need to verify that your LUNs are correct. Please provide the output of ctladm lunlist on FreeNAS.
 

stillnick

Dabbler
Joined
Jul 27, 2018
Messages
13
I'm sorry, i'm just swapping to test all HBA FC cards I have here to try to make it work.

Here is my output:


[root@freenas ~]# ctladm lunlist
(7:2:0/0): <FreeNAS iSCSI Disk 0123> Fixed Direct Access SPC-5 SCSI device


I just reinstalled the FN 11.1u4 so a hear its better then the u5 version. But still doesn't work. :(
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top