Cannot install FreeNAS 8.0.2 on SSD: the primary GPT table is corrupt or invalid

Status
Not open for further replies.

MarcusXP

Dabbler
Hi all,

I tried installing FreeNAS 8.0.2 on a SSD drive (Patriot Warp V2 32GB), but for some reason it just doesn't work for me.
It installs fine, but after reboot it cannot boot off that drive where it just installed.
The kernel panics, and this is what I get:
Code:
GEOM: ada0: the primary GPT table is corrupt or invalid.
GEOM: ada0: using the secondary instead -- recovery strongly advised.
Trying to mount root from ufs:/dev/ufs/FreeNASs1a
ROOT MOUNT ERROR:

This is my first attempt installing FreeNAS.. so I am new at it.
I tried installing it on another SSD drive (OCZ Vertex2 60GB) and got exactly same issue.
However, it seems to be working just fine when installed on a WD 2TB green drive (WD20EADS).

Anyone can help? How can I get pass this problem?

thanks in advance,
-Marcus

MarcusXP

Dabbler
Nevermind, I fixed it.
I had to clean up the drives completely, I did a disk dump from /dev/zero. Then reinstalled FreeNAS.
Looks like this version of FreeNAS has a problem when reusing old hard drives (already partitioned).

ProtoSD

MVP
Hi MarcusXP,

You should have a look at the Unofficial FAQ sometime (below in signature). There's a question in there about wiping disks/reusing them. There's also another one about installing FreeNAS on a hard drive, or SSD in your case, if you're planning to try and repartition/make it multi-boot etc.

Thanks for posting your solution.

MarcusXP

Dabbler
Hi MarcusXP,

You should have a look at the Unofficial FAQ sometime (below in signature). There's a question in there about wiping disks/reusing them. There's also another one about installing FreeNAS on a hard drive, or SSD in your case, if you're planning to try and repartition/make it multi-boot etc.

Thanks for posting your solution.

Question #20 from your FAQ did not help me.
I tried running "dd" as specified there, but only by running: